Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lincoln’s Birthday Singing

University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

Sunday, February 12, 2017

The 25th annual Lincoln’s Birthday Singing was held on the second Sunday in February at Ida Noyes Hall, University of Chicago, in conjunction with the University of Chicago Folk Festival. The class was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Jim Swanson, who led 49b.

Since many people unfamiliar with Sacred Harp attend this singing, he welcomed everyone, encouraged all to participate, and announced that there would be a singing school lesson to help them understand the music.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jim Swanson; Secretary—Mary Rogel; Arranging Officer—Jim Swanson.

Leaders: Eileen Ferguson 34b; Mary Rogel 49t; Ginny Landgraf 39t; Linda Selph 68b; Lisa Grayson 47b; Jerry Gripshover 28b; Ann Sleeva 178; Doug Stapleton 155; Daniel Braithwaite 311; Ted Mercer 31t; Jim Swanson 300; Susan Geil 52t; Eileen Ferguson 36b; Mary Rogel 40.

Lisa Grayson taught a singing school lesson. Leaders: Randy Neufeld 77t; Ginny Landgraf 547; Linda Selph 475; Samuel Sommers 422.


Jerry Gripshover called the class to order leading 344. Leaders: Erica Detemmerman 81t; Lisa Grayson 112; Ann Sleeva 225t (for Michael Appert); Doug Stapleton 503; Matthew Siefert 426b; Jim Swanson 216; Ted Mercer 192; Susan Geil 217; Eileen Ferguson 84; Mary Rogel 501; Debbie Kanfer and Linda Selph 472; Kris Richardson 365; Randy Neufeld 29t; Ginny Landgraf 527; Linda Selph 61; Samuel Sommers 437; Jerry Gripshover 111b; Erica Detemmerman 59; Amritpal Singh 82t; Ann Sleeva 171; Lisa Grayson 448t.


Matthew Siefert called the class to order leading 63. Leaders: Jim Swanson 228; Ted Mercer 278b; Sophie Ciesielski and Matthew Siefert 276; Ella DeCastro, Anna Schloerb, and Ginny Landgraf 62; Susan Geil 474; Eileen Ferguson 107; Mary Rogel 73b; Kris Richardson and Anna Schloerb 76b; Randy Neufeld 99; Ginny Landgraf 567; Rochelle Lodder and Jim Swanson 442; Linda Selph 208; Samuel Sommers 207; Jerry Gripshover 268; Erica Detemmerman 284; Amritpal Singh 522; Mike Kerr 378b; Lisa Grayson 436; Ann Sleeva 66.

Announcements were made. Jim Swanson led 347 as the class took the parting hand.

Chairman—Jim Swanson; Secretary—Mary Rogel