Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Singing

Holy Trinity Church, Mapperley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Sunday, January 1, 2017

The class was called to order by Helen Brown leading 32t. Ted Brown offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders; Arranging Committee—Judy Whiting and Vicki Elliott.

Leaders: Ian West 54t (CB); Margaret Gillanders 313t; Ted Brown 105; Vicki Elliott 82t; Karen Turner 410t; Faiz Wareh 30t (CB); Hannah Land 75 (CB); Scott Lewin 336t (CB); Cora Wareh 362; Joe Vickers 35 (CB); Michael Walker 138t (CB); Eimear O’Donovan 31b (CB); Sam Carter 271t (CB); Tarik Wareh 348b; Ella Cumber 406; Patti Wareh 142; Cath Saunt 34b; Werner Ullah 37b; Julie Russell 155; Hannah Land 137 (CB); Ian West 59 (CB); Karen Turner 511t (CB); Scott Lewin 199 (CB); Ted Brown 77b. Grace for the mid-day meal was offered by Joe Vickers.


Joe Vickers called the class back together by leading 29t. Leaders: Patti Wareh 228; Michael Walker 499 (CB); Julie Russell 163b; Karen Turner 277; Cath Saunt 350; Cora Wareh 269 (CB); Rosalind Oldham 575 (CB); Ted Brown 133 (CB); Margaret Gillanders 546; Eimear O’Donovan 548; Tarik Wareh 268b (CB); Helen Brown 556; Scott Lewin 449 (CB); Judy Whiting 590 (CB); Sam Carter 439; Vicki Elliott 426b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Karen Turner. The following sick and housebound were named: Curtis Owen, Edith Owen, Norman Johnson, Nate Green, Norma Green, Melanie Hauff, Nigel Cumber, Monica Nasis, Sister Pippa, Joyce Farrell, Irene Bown, Alan Bown, Charlene Wallace, Sue Screaton, Dave Elliott, Diana Elliott, and Delorese Lee.

The following deceased were remembered and honored: David Smith, Chris Holloway, John Pinnick, Don Grimshaw, Ros Taylor, Eileen McDougall, B.M. Smith, Charlie Derleth, Gary Smith, Johnny Lee, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Earlis McGraw, S.T. Reed, Bernice Harvey, Tom Robinson, Jimmie Foreman, Janelle Davis, Gren Morris, April Selley, Robert Peele, Ruth Steggles, Alex Elliott, and Winifred Elliott. Karen Turner led 566 for all the above named. Michael Walker closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Cath Saunt 547; Ian West 480; Hannah Land 472; Faiz Wareh 486.


Scott Lewin called the class together by leading 448b. Leaders: Sam Carter 587 (CB); Joe Vickers 38t (CB); Hannah Land 98 (CB); Eimear O’Donovan 505 (CB); Tarik Wareh, Cora Wareh, and Faiz Wareh 392 (CB); Helen Brown 77t; Rosalind Oldham 299; Werner Ullah 278t; Margaret Gillanders 573 (CB); Michael Walker 111b; Patti Wareh 486 (CB); Vicki Elliott 210 (CB).

Helen Brown led 95b (CB) as the closing song. Jonathan Stanyon dismissed the class with prayer and blessing.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders