Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Michiana Singing

Southwest Bible Church, Goshen, Indiana

Saturday, July 16, 2016

The 29th annual Michiana Singing was called to order by Matthew Lind leading 49t. Pastor David Stump, of the Southwest Bible Church, offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were appointed: Chairman—Matthew Lind; Treasurer—James Nelson Gingerich; Arranging Officer—Henry Schuman; Secretary—Samuel Sommers.

Leaders: James Nelson Gingerich 59; Samuel Sommers 386; Henry Schuman 318; Eloise Clark 209; Andy Ditzler 422; Beth Garfinkel 196; Jeff Begley 65; Sarah Trumbore 58; Dean Knuth 73t; Ann Miczulski 73b; Pat Coghlan 210; Anne Steel 348b; John Seaton 47t; Claudia Dean 360; Jan May 538.


James Nelson Gingerich called the class to order leading 29t. Leaders: Kay Huener 147t; Greg Creech 74b; Susan Fetcho 472; Steve Warner 171; Linda Selph 61; Jamie Yeats 169; Syble Adams 63; John David Thacker 457; Karen Bahler 40; Joshua Wright and Aubrey Wright 452; Cecelia Kramer 377; Darrell Swarens 507; Lori Graber 182; Thom Fahrbach 464.


The class was called to order by Sam Sommers leading 105. Leaders: Marian Mitchell 454; John Hoerr 112; Beth Huener 547 Jim Helke 271t; Anne Heider 455; Warren Steel 513; Christine Guth 42; Bob Borcherding 168; Erika Wilson 77t; Curtis Cook 178; Rochelle Lodder 276.

Holly Austin and Linda Selph conducted the memorial lesson. Holly spoke for the sick and shut-ins. She led 68b for the following: Melanie Hauff, Brandon Buxton, Alice McGuire, Nancy Filbert, Joy Huener, John Carson, Julie Vea, and Johanna Fabke.

Linda then spoke for the deceased, and read the following list of their names: Azilee Adams, Kermit Adams, Steve Adams, Gib Amason, Vernelle Amason, Elsie Moon, Kathleen Doss Traywick, S.T. Reed—Alabama; Ron Huss, Marian Bush—California; Stuart Lewis—Connecticut; Joe Nall—Florida; Janelle Davis—Illinois; Patrick Megenity, Mike Schmucker—Indiana; Max Stackhouse—Massachusetts; Charlie Derleth—Missouri; Ann Henry, Eveline Inksetter—New York; Loraine Bayer—Ohio; Sarah Hauser, Sara Perry, Fran Ross, Tammi Ziola—Oregon; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Louise Hotaling—Washington. Linda Selph led 146 in memory of the deceased. Holly Austin closed the memorial lesson with prayer. After brief announcements, Will Fitzgerald said grace before the noon meal.


Matthew Lind called the class to order leading 99. Leaders: Cathryn Bearov 564; John Bealle 217; Anna Pfau 426b; James Nelson Gingerich 39t; Kate Coxon 500; John Fink 183; Martha Beverly 212; David Brodeur 218; Ann Missavage 300; David Fetcho 383; Judy Hauff, Sasha Maslanka, and Kian Maslanka 87, 157; Jason Steidl 361; Beth Todd 373; Bob Brylawski 122; Lindy Groening 172; Bill Beverly 546; Holly Austin 473; James Page 216.


Michael Miller called the class to order leading 56b. Leaders: Ginny Landgraf 542; Nate Zweig 456; Brad Bahler 192; Gillian Inksetter 234; Will Fitzgerald and Syble Adams 448t; Ted Mercer 236; Kris Richardson 195; Peter Trumbore 480; Aaron Jones 312b; Kate Coxon and Thom Fahrbach 303; Lindy Groening, Linda Selph, Will Fitzgerald, David Fetcho, Susan Fetcho, Bob Brylawski, and Erika Wilson 79; Syble Adams 203; Gillian Inksetter and Jan May 474; Jeff Begley 278b; Jason Steidl 548; David Brodeur and Andy Ditzler 123b; Anne Steel and Warren Steel 278b.

Announcements were made. Matthew Lind led 62 as the closing song. Samuel Sommers dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Matthew Lind; Arranging Officer—Henry Schuman; Secretary—Samuel Sommers