Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, April 30, 2016

The annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in May in the Old Country Church at Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Samuel Sommers leading 31b. Loyd Ivey offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Vice Chairman—Stuart Ivey; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger; Memorial Committee—Judy Caudle and Nathan Stewart.

Leaders: Teresa Hope and Amanda Hardiman 78; Lomax Ballinger 277; David Ivey 37t; Sherry Stover and Linton Ballinger 373; Daniel Lee 163t; Stuart Ivey 477; Jimmy Ballinger 565; Vella Dailey 496; Henry Johnson 138b; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Gravis Ballinger 215; Loyd Ivey 283; Karen Freund 542; Gary Leopold 159; Charles McCravy 121; Kelsey Ivey 141; Buddy Ballinger 399b; Anna Grace Sipe 77t.


Stuart Ivey led 85 to bring the class back together. Leaders: David Brodeur 560; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 430; David Ballinger 340; Linda Sides 170; Nate Green 131t; Eli Hinton 99; Matthew Phillips 146; Pam Wilkerson 203; Cindy Tanner 498; Michael Thompson 196; Elene Stovall 200; Earl Ballinger 80b; Joyce Walton 500; Delone Cobbs 341; Ann Jett 546; Eugene Forbes 299; Daphene Causey 436.


The class was brought back to order by Samuel Sommers leading 105. Leaders: Richard Ivey 54; Judy Mincey 475; Richard Mauldin 168; Allison Whitener and Grace Whitener 131b.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Nathan Stewart and Judy Caudle. Nathan spoke and read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Susan Harcrow, B.M. Smith, Margie Smith, Eloise Wootten, Norma Green, Janelle Davis, Elsie Moon, Kermit Adams, Kenneth Fannin, Lynne deBenedette, Velton Chafin, Johnie Chafin, Willodean Barton, Ottis Sides, Floy Wilder, S.T. Reed, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Anne Chalker, and Earlis McGraw. He led 404 in their honor.

Judy Caudle spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Azilee Adams, Bennett Green, Dub Smith, Naomi Carroll, Dawson Adams, Robert DuPree, and Kenny Graves—Alabama; Oliver Kindig-Stokes—Pennsylvania; Daniel Sommers—Indiana; Bernice Steadman Thompson and George Garner—Georgia. She led 403 in their memory. Elder J.L. Hopper closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 336; Lisa Geist 304; Butch White 547; Anna Hinton 142; Phil Summerlin 564; Nancy Thompson 40; Randall Smith and Rodney Ivey 137 (in memory of Virgil Phillips); Angela Myers 67; Tom George 486.


The afternoon session began with Tom George leading 30t. Leaders: Charles Meidinger 186; Judy Caudle 451 (by request); Larry Ballinger 151; Cassie Allen 383 (by request); Andy Ditzler 292; Brad Bahler and Karen Bahler 192; Rick Cunningham 101t; Sharon DuPriest 212; Caleb Dillehay 163b; Erica Hinton 270; J.L. Hopper 189; Nathan Stewart 193; Drew McGuire 102; Matt Hinton 217; Hazel Heinze 145t; Justin Bowen 411; Theresa Westmoreland 338; Rick Hoffman 274b; Dillon Feezell 314; Mark Carroll 480; J.C. Rutledge 294; Elizabeth Gentry and Michele Banish 76b; Gail Doss 191; Julie Herron 32t; Karen Ivey 422; Dorothea Maynard 361.

Following announcements, Samuel Sommers and Stuart Ivey led 323t as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Vice Chairman—Stuart Ivey; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope