Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of West Georgia

Food Services Building (Z-6), Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, February 21, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing at the University of West Georgia was held on the third Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Myron House leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Philip Denney.

Leaders: Myron House 109; Jan House 148; Judy Chambless 527, 549; Karen Rollins 168, 399b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Jan House; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless; Memorial Lesson—Karen Rollins.

Leaders: Myron House 38t; Cecil Roberts 47b, 48t; Sheri Taylor 126, 156; Karis Askin 300, 547; Henry Johnson 88t, 164; Dalton Lewis Dyer 354b, 46; Lisa Bennett 29t, 448t (for Janelle Davis); Wyatt Denney 38b, 203.


Myron House led 77b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Jesse P. Karlsberg 324, 423; Virginia Dyer 63, 546; Leanne Carter 58, 106; Samuel Williams 375; Andy Ditzler 48b, 540; Charlene Wallace 283; B.M. Smith 350, 208; David Smead 43, 325; Malinda Snow 548, 544; Robert Chambless 28b, 503; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 225t, 40.


The afternoon session began with Myron House leading 81b. Leaders: Michael Spenser 166, 420; John Plunkett 330b (for Jeannette DePoy), 284.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. She spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Mrs. Gilbert Pope, George Garner, C.W. Garner, Evelyn Harris, Oliver Kindig-Stokes, Jimmy Cole, and Mary Martha Fox.

Karen spoke on behalf of the following sick and shut-ins: Janelle Davis, Jeannette DePoy, Earlis McGraw, S.T. Reed, Donnie Rayburn, Virginia Futral, Susan Harcrow, Toney Smith, and Lavoy Smith. She led 318. Judy Chambless closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 327, 344; Daniel Williams 556, 74b; David Brodeur 45b, 50b; Winfred Kerr 45t, 89; Philip Denney and Emily Driver 72b (for Donnie Rayburn), 84; Fallon Cook 340, 146; Fred Eady 418; Jason Stanford 159, 75; Philip Denney, Wyatt Denney, and Karis Askin 504; Jesse P. Karlsberg, Andy Ditzler, and David Brodeur 142; Malinda Snow, Lisa Bennett, David Smead, and John Plunkett 155; Leanne Carter, Charlene Wallace, and Michael Spenser 480; Oscar McGuire, Samuel Williams, and Daniel Williams 73t; Henry Johnson, B.M. Smith, and Margie Smith 317; Jason Stanford, Cecil Roberts, Winfred Kerr, and Fred Eady 312b; Donne Duke, Gene Duke, and Sheri Taylor 276.

Myron House led 323t as the closing song. Philip Denney offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Jan House; Secretary—Sheri Taylor