Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Oak Hill Singing and Calhoun County Convention

Oak Hill Baptist Church, Oxford, Alabama

Sunday, November 9, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing and Calhoun County Convention was held on the second Sunday in November at Oak Hill Baptist Church. B.M. Smith called the class to order leading 59 and 56t. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 58 (in memory of Stanly Edwards), 72b; Judy Chambless 339, 354b; Margie Smith 73b, 499; Pearl Guier 32t (in memory of B.J. Harris), 63; Hayden Arp 37b, 34t; Charlene Wallace 61, 155 (in honor of Evelyn Harris and in memory of Carlene Griffin); Robert Chambless 503, 66; Ann Simpson 445, 133; Marilyn Bradley 159, 448b.


Cecil Roberts brought the class back to order leading 42. Leaders: Jack Nelson 345t, 438; Rene Greene 565, 176b; Wyatt Denney 65, 77t; Judy Caudle 129, 131b; Karen Rollins 100 (in memory of Josephine Denney), 68b (in memory of Albert Rogers); Winfred Kerr 146, 282; B, M. Smith 101t, 47t (in honor of Evelyn Harris); Cecil Roberts 47b, 477; Margie Smith 512; Pearl Guier 358, 45t; Hayden Arp 72t (in memory of Lewis Norton), 340; Charlene Wallace 217, 283; Robert Chambless 225t, 77b.


B.M. Smith brought the class back to order leading 138t. Leaders: Rene Greene 84; Wyatt Denney 168, 268; Jack Nelson 475, 269; Ann Simpson 73t, 82t; Judy Caudle 472; Karen Rollins 540; Winfred Kerr 89; Judy Chambless 527, 347.

After announcements, B.M. Smith and Cecil Roberts led 46 as the closing song. Robert Chambless offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Chambless