Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Winston County Convention

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Double Springs, Alabama

Sunday, September 28, 2014

The Winston County Convention was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Double Springs, Alabama, on the fourth Sunday in September. Kermit Adams called the class to order leading 131b. The morning prayer was offered by Don Keeton.

The class was organized with the following officers appointed: Honorary Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Don Keeton; Arranging Officer—Margaret Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice.

Leaders: Don Keeton 390, 317; Becky Briggs 480, 482; Mike Hankins 111b, 111t; Lena Keeton 146, 30t; Gravis Ballinger 138t, 168; Chris Ballinger 129, 178; Lisa Geist 527 (in memory of Rena Humber), 200 (for Johnny Humber); Larry Ballinger 134 (for Johnny Humber); Freddie Briggs 388, 282; Alvin Beasley 45t, 72b.


Don Keeton called the class back to order by leading 405. Leaders: Jerry Kitchens 112, 144; Sarah Beasley, Becky Briggs, and Alvin Beasley 406, 336; Roma Rice 31t, 31b; Amber Davis 276, 391; Willodean Barton 454, 475; Betty Baccus 460 (for Johnny Humber), 59 (in memory of Joan Gilbreath), 159 (for Bernice Wakefield); Loretta Whitman 145b, 147t; Julie Poston 306.


Don Keeton called the class back to order by leading 61 (in memory of his mother). Leaders: Sara Berry 290, 329; Steve Adams and Amber Davis 331, 378t; Mike Hankins 410t; Jerry Kitchens 108b; the class sang 358; Freddie Briggs 79; Sarah Beasley, Alvin Beasley, and Linda Beasley 63; Loretta Whitman 68b; Amber Davis 75 (for Ozella Blackmon); Freddie Briggs and Becky Briggs 354b; Betty Baccus 275b (for Seth Poston).

Don Keeton led 62 as the closing song. He offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Honorary Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Don Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice