Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing

Warren Wilson College, Asheville, North Carolina

Saturday, July 26, 2014

The Swannanoa Gathering Shape Note Singing was held at Warren Wilson College in the Morris Pavilion on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July in conjunction with Old Time Music and Dance Week. The singers were greeted by Jane Spencer, who led 26b (CH). Ron Pen offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Ron Pen 117 (CH); Chris Wilhelm 36b (CH); Dorothy Lane 215 (CH); Kevin Kehrberg 248 (CH); Michael Spencer 225t (CH); Leslie Booher 544 (CH); Robert Kelley 530 (CH); Sarah Kehrberg 184 (CH); William Simerly 67b (CH); Mary Baumeister 67t (CH); Dave Farmer 267 (CH); Gilman Brock 88 (CH); Susan Schmidt 89 (CH); Linda Krieger 55b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH).


Leaders: Jane Spencer 67; Ron Pen 146; Chris Wilhelm 564.

In a brief business meeting, Jane Spencer and Ron Pen were re-elected to their respective positions. Chris Wilhelm was elected secretary. Ron Pen expressed appreciation to Warren Wilson College for providing use of the Morris Pavilion, and thanks to God for good weather for the day.

Leaders: Dorothy Lane 178; Kevin Kehrberg 373; Michael Spencer 308; Leslie Booher 133; Rob Kelley 170; Sarah Kehrberg 186; William Simerly 312b; Mary Baumeister 445; Dave Farmer 473; Gilman Brock 282; Susan Schmidt 268; Linda Krieger 209; Sally Morgan 33b. Diane Eskenasy led 200 as grace for the noon meal.


Leaders: Jane Spencer 277 (SoH); Ron Pen 103 (SoH); Chris Wilhelm 63 (SoH); Kevin Kehrberg 56 (SoH); Michael Spencer 41 (SoH); Leslie Booher 276b (SoH); Robert Kelley 196 (SoH); Sarah Kehrberg 322 (SoH); Mary Baumeister 281t (SoH); Gilman Brock 38 (SoH); Susan Schmidt 265 (SoH); Linda Krieger 195 (SoH).


Leaders: Jane Spencer 269; Ron Pen 455; Chris Wilhelm 125 (SoH); Dorothy Lane 569b; Kevin Kehrberg 349; Michael Spencer 493b (CH); Leslie Booher 546b (CH); Robert Kelley 91 (SoH); Sarah Kehrberg 117; William Simerly 63; Mary Baumeister 110 (SoH); Dave Farmer 479; Susan Schmidt 454.

The officers led 267 as the final song. Michael Spencer offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Jane Spencer; Vice Chairman—Ron Pen; Secretary—Chris Wilhelm