Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Capitol City Shape Note Singing

Loeb Reception Center, Montgomery, Alabama

Thursday, July 17, 2014

The annual Capitol City Shape Note Singing was held at the Loeb Reception Center, Montgomery, Alabama, on the third Thursday in July. Four books were used during the day as follows: The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition; The B.F. White Sacred Harp, Cooper Revision (CB); The Christian Harmony (CH); and The Colored Sacred Harp (CSH). Bill Hogan called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. by leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Hubert Nall. Joey Brackner welcomed the singers on behalf of the Alabama Center for Traditional Culture.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 527; Robert Chambless 327; Richard Mauldin 66; Jim Aaron 503; Jim Carnes 95; Bea Aaron 475; Ercyl Vidrine 335; Hubert Nall 421; Ann Jett 136; Betty Thompson 142 (CH); David Daniel 184 (CH); Eddie Pierce 82b (CH); Emma Calvert 91 (CH); Nancy Hogan 214 (CH); Rebecca Over 268 (CH); Wanda Capps 264 (CH); Mary Amelia Taylor 50 (CH); Tim Taylor 322 (CH).


Alice Sundberg brought the class back to order leading 447b (CB). Leaders: Evie Eddins 553 (CB); Vickie Aplin 76b (CB); Ann Gray 571 (CB); Kenneth Smith 189 (CB); Ken Sundberg 123b (CB); Gary Padgett 532 (CB); Tommy Spurlock 464 (CB); Cathy Maddox 358 (CB); Adrian Nall 507b (CB); Joey Brackner 4 (CSH); Ken Sundberg 12 (CSH); Bill Hogan 24 (CSH); Robert Vaughn 25 (CSH); Steve Grauberger 95 (CSH); Stanley Smith “Lord, Give Me Just A Little More Time”.


Bill Hogan brought the class back to order leading 300. Leaders: Ann Gray 142; Wayne Jones 84; Linda Thomas 345b; Judy Chambless and Robert Chambless 472; Kevin Eddins, Eric Eddins, Eli Eddins, Evan Eddins, Elam Eddins, and Ezra Eddins 81t, 155; Butch White 85; Eddie Pierce 282; Robert DuPree 569b; Wynette Smith 146 (CB); Dana Eddins 47t (CB);

Emma Eddins 171 (CB); Elizabeth Duffy 451 (CB); Loretta Jones 516 (CB); Loretta Jones and Lloyd Jones 463 (CB); Rebecca Over 358 (CH); Louise Crunk 248 (CH); Steve Grauberger 143 (CH); Ann Jett 149 (CH); Richard Mauldin 120 (CH); Wynette Smith 81t (CH); Rebecca Over and Nancy Hogan 159t (CH); Ann Renfroe and Bill Hogan 133 (CH); Gary Padgett 137 (CH); Emma Calvert 188 (CH); Robert DuPree and Louise Crunk 63t (CH); Stanley Smith 87 (CSH).

After announcements, Bill Hogan led 91b (CSH) as the closing song. Kenneth Smith offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Bill Hogan; Vice Chairman—Nancy Hogan; Secretary—Judy Chambless