Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church

Section, Alabama

Sunday, June 15, 2014

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church, Section, Alabama, on the third Sunday in June was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Dennis George leading 75. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Dennis George; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Tom George.

Leaders: Dennis George 82t; Tom George 52t, 37b; Judy Caudle 33b, 472; Henry Johnson 88t, 166; Joan Aldridge 76b; Susan Cherones 564, 107; David Olson 345b, 112; Karen Willard 302, 163t; Scott Ivey 83b, 482; Destiny Woods 30t, 113; Scott Kennedy 287, 546; Charlotte Ehrman 32t, 486.


Aaron Wootten led 445 to bring the class together. Leaders: David Ivey and Terry Wootten 400, 317; Charles Stiefel 290, 47b; Cheyenne Ivey 56t, 421; Esteban Veliz 457, 480; Boyd Scott 72b, 127; Karen Ivey 383, 145t; Peter Stenshoel 270, 86; Mary Ruth Stiefel 87, 268; Drew McGuire 131b, 101t; Sarah Vaughn 73t, 129; Nate Green 77b, 141; Rodney Ivey 39b. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Jimmy Haynes.


Dennis George led 213t to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Loretta Smith 274t, 68b (by request); Verlon Stiefel 348b; Shane Wootten 387; Norma Green 84; Syble Adams 203; Joshua Varner, Julianna Varner, and David Varner 128; Karen Willard 189; Esteban Veliz 209; Destiny Woods 216; Peter Stenshoel 42; Shelby Castillo 186; Rodney Ivey 426t (in memory of Hobert Ivey); Henry Johnson 409; Joyce Whittington and Charlotte Ehrman 569b (for Betty Wright); Jeanette Dollar 100; Scott Ivey and David Ivey 47t (in memory of Hobert Ivey); David Olson 385t; Susan Cherones 173; Drew McGuire 30b; Judy Caudle 403; Rodney Ivey, David Ivey, and Dennis George 465 (CB) (for Coy Ivey).

Dennis George led “He’ll Hold My Hand” as the closing song. Verlon Stiefel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dennis George; Secretary—Judy Caudle