Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alpharetta Municipal Building Singing

Big Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Alpharetta, Georgia

Sunday, June 8, 2014

The 146th annual session of the Alpharetta Municipal Building Singing was held on the second Sunday in June at Big Creek Primitive Baptist Church. Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 46 and 67. John Hollingsworth offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Janice Paulk 448b, 75; Helen Bryson 101b, 131b; Tony Hammock 494, 465; Richard Delong 102, 158; Mike Castleberry 512, 285t; Scott DePoy 48t (in memory of friend, John Jaramillo), 277; John Hollingsworth 418, 341; Jerusha Wheeler 421; Rachel Carlisle 204, 145t; John Kelso 123b, 447; John Plunkett 497 (in memory of Reuben Ball), 33b; Malinda Snow 541, 460.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 111b. Leaders: Janice Paulk 297, 137; Rachel Carlisle 318, 222.

A business session was held. The same officers were elected to serve for the coming year as follows: Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Janice Paulk; Secretary—Helen Bryson. Alpharetta City Councilman Donald Mitchell spoke of the new Alpharetta Municipal Building due for completion in September/October, 2014, and invited the singing to move back to the municipal building in 2015. He also spoke of the room in the building which will house the North Fulton archives, and will include items on Sacred Harp singing in this area. A motion was made and carried to move the singing back to the Alpharetta Municipal Building in the year 2015.


Faye Holbrook called the class to order leading 290. Leaders: John Hollingsworth 114; Jerusha Wheeler 276, 474; Tony Hammock 83b, 434; Mike Castleberry 76b, 569b; Richard Delong 432, 109; Malinda Snow 287; Helen Bryson 285b, 313b; John Plunkett 74b (in memory of Loy Garrison), 121 (in memory of Jack Corley), 155 (in memory of Jetha Brooks); Sandra Wilkinson 270, 335, 300; Faye Holbrook 343 (in memory of Violet Thomason), 455.

Announcements were made. Faye Holbrook led 62 as closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Plunkett.

Chairman—Faye Holbrook; Vice Chairman—Janice Paulk; Secretary—Helen Bryson