Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Day Singing

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 1, 2014

The annual Liberty Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held at Liberty Baptist Church on the first Sunday in June. The class was called to order by David Ivey leading 82t. Phil Summerlin offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were previously elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey; Arranging Committee—Richard Ivey and Jackie Tanner.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 225t; Loyd Ivey 303; Cheyenne Ivey 31t; Nate Green and Norma Green 317; Rex Wilks 89; Eloise Wootten and Rodney Ivey 171; Stuart Ivey 475; Phil Summerlin 35; Susan Cherones 173; Jared Wootten 440; Shirley Figura 499; Dennis George 101b; Linton Ballinger 212; Lauren Bock 316; Tom George 488; Pleasance Crawford 293; Blake Sisemore 550; Mark Godfrey and Cecil Godfrey 40; Gail Doss 66; Jamey Wootten and Cole Wootten 472; Sarah Vaughn 460; Richard Ivey 96; Lisa Geist 377; Paul Figura 37b; Max Bruce 313b; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 430; Chris Ballinger 146; Deborah Morton, Daniel Morton, Augie Morton, Garrett Morton, Jeff Lacy, Rusty Lacy, Josh Collier, and Lacy Collier 46, 477; Anne Drexler 335; Hayden Wootten 340.

The class moved to the cemetery and sang 159, 505 (CB), 572 (CB), and 45t in memory of the deceased.


The class was brought back to order by David Ivey leading 155. Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 441; Henry Johnson 406; Kate Coxon 175; Aaron Wootten 47t; Angela Myers 498; Daniel Lee 497; Mark Carroll 426t; Allison Whitener and Grace Whitener 47b; Donald Ross 399b; Scott Ivey and Concetta Branson 201; Jeanette Dollar 358 (by request); Darrell Swarens 208; Roberta Strauss 203; Barrett Patton 532; Drew McGuire 67; Tony Ivey 454. Tony Ivey offered a blessing before the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with David Ivey leading 319. Leaders: Jenna Strizak 217; David Brodeur 187; Larry Ballinger 112; Daphene Causey 304; Hobert Ivey, Scott Ivey, Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 445; Chuck Crawford 300; Judy Caudle 500; John Berendzen 95; Kelsey Ivey 328; Eddie Mash 320; Jessica Beer 142; Karen Ivey 318; David Wright 145t; Coy Ivey, Betty Sheppard, Eloise Wootten, Loyd Ivey, Rex Wilks, Linda Patton, Jack Ivey, Norma Green, Norman Greeson, and Virginia Stevenson 384, 465 (CB); Jackie Tanner 73t; Reba Windom and Betty Sheppard 216; Thom Fahrbach 399t; Diane Ross 543; Jesse P. Karlsberg 542; Loyd Ivey, Lilly Underwood, Ivey Biddle, Marian Biddle, Martha Underwood, Teresa Bethune, and Callie Watkins 424, 501 (CB); Cindy Tanner 368.


Richard Ivey led 345b to bring the class together. Leaders: Sharon DuPriest 137; Betsy Jeronen 573; Elene Stovall 192; David Killingsworth 376; Karen Travis and Rex Wilks 29t; Loretta Smith 348b (in memory of her parents); Julie Heeren and Barrett Patton 417; Marty Wootten 505 (CB); Leigh Cooper 283; Ezra Lloyd, Gideon Lloyd, Isaac Lloyd, and Malachi Lloyd 38t; Syble Adams and Richard Ivey 496; Charles Stiefel 123b; Jackson Harcrow and Terry Wootten 330t; Betty Sheppard, Rusty Lacy, Josh Collier, and Lacy Collier 282; Jack Stiefel 30b.

Announcements were made. David Ivey led 56t as the closing song. Jackson Harcrow offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey