Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Los Angeles Regional Singing

Angels Gate Cultural Center, San Pedro, California

Saturday, May 10, 2014

The 22nd annual Los Angeles Regional Sacred Harp Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Jeff Begley leading 52t. Al Grindon offered the opening prayer.

A business meeting was held and the following officers elected: Chairman—Rick Russell; Vice Chairman—Betty Herman; Treasurer—Pearl Marshall; Secretary—Larry Arnstein.

Leaders: Rick Russell 49t; Larry Arnstein 362; Peter Stenshoel 163b; Kevin Liu 348t; Alison Fisher 157; Esteban Veliz 547; Karen Mathews 191; John Rand 448t; Bruce Hayes 304; Eleanor Glewwe 47t; Laura Boyd Russell 83t.


Jerry Schreiber called the class back to order by leading 111b. Leaders: Al Grindon 408; Carla Smith 32b; David Olson 112; Jeff Begley 144; Ron Huss 38t; Midge Harder 297; Jeri Segal 372; Rick Russell 107; Pat Keating 440; Randy Ritter 212; Pearl Marshall 146; Annalise Perone 192; Jerry Schreiber 434.


Alison Fisher called the class back to order by leading 282. Leaders: Larry Arnstein 91; Jacob Goodman 457; Mary Rose O’Leary 340; Sarah Hill 455; Stephen O’Leary 32t.

Mary Rose O’Leary conducted the memorial lesson. She led 442 in memory of the following deceased: Carroll Lunsford, Nadine Willard, Polly Henninger, Nathan Wasilewski, Christopher Wilke, Bill Fitzgerald, and Dennis Carter—California; Paul Salamunovich—Louisiana; Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard—Alabama; Carlene Griffin—Georgia; Evelyn Steinruck—Pennsylvania; Pete Seeger—New York.

Carla Smith led 81t for the following sick and housebound: Natalie Hall, Fred Thayer, Marilyn Murata, Barbara Greenspan, Judy Cifra, Shisue Sugimoto, Fumie Murata, Joan Gillson, Dick Flaharty, Ethyl Hellenthal, Lenny Hellenthal, Oscar Merin, Bob Baldwin, and John Schaffer.

Leaders: Judy Getrich 546; Judy Nahman-Stouffer 183; Mimi Wright 410b.


The afternoon session of singing was called to order by Jon Rand leading 36b. Leaders: Colleen Dougher 506; Lizzie Sanders 131t; Rachel O’Leary 36t; Samantha Miller 56b; Jon Gathje 47b; Elaine Denny 228; Carla Smith 428; Bruce Hayes 254; Midge Harder 31t; Jon Rand 505; Alison Fisher 217; Pearl Marshall 454; Jeff Begley 69t; Annalise Perone 108t.


Bruce Hayes led 270 to bring the class together. Leaders: Al Grindon 171; Pearl Marshall 350; Sarah Hill 155; Jerry Schreiber 66; Susan Willis Powers 122; Mairye Bates 236; Peter Stenshoel 530; Esteban Veliz 300; Eleanor Glewwe 288; Laura Boyd Russell 479; Judy Getrich 128; Ron Huss 486.


The class was called back to order by Laura Boyd Russell leading 40. Leaders: Mimi Wright 267; Rachel O’Leary 215; Bruce Teter 170; Pat Keating 186; Stephen O’Leary 181; Colleen Dougher 178; Mary Rose O’Leary 528.

A business meeting was held to hear reports. The Treasurer reported that expenses had been met. The Secretary reported that there were a total of 68 songs led 39 leaders. There were 29 (t? b?) non-leaders. Resolutions were read by the Resolutions Committee.

Jeff Begley led 276 as the closing song. Al Grindon offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rick Russell; Vice Chairman—Betty Herman; Secretary—Larry Arnstein