Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harpeth Valley-Priestley Miller Memorial Singing

Radnor Primitive Baptist Church, Nashville, Tennessee

Saturday, April 5, 2014

The 53rd annual Harpeth Valley-Priestley Miller Memorial Singing was held at Radnor Primitive Baptist Church, Nashville, Tennessee, on Saturday before the first Sunday in April. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by David Carlton leading 171. Ron Harper offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: David Carlton 77t; Randy Box 63, 84; Sandie Scott 59, 29t (for Marilyn Burchett); Ron Harper 52t, 138b; Caleb Dillehay 34t, 37b; Laurens Blankers 72b, 479; Kelsey Ivey 435, 313t; Rick Hoffman 135, 441; Lewis Frost 73b, 86; Rick Fretter 49b, 107.


The class was brought back to order by Darrell Swarens leading 128 and 111b. Leaders: Kerene Box and Thelma Elliott 146, 155; Mike Penney 117, 225t (in memory of Mary Lou Reynolds, whose funeral was taking place); John Plunkett 52b, 572; Nathan Rees 570, 466; Paul Davis 159, 81t; Karen Ivey 277, 220; John Ramsey 176b, 91; Richard Ivey 458, 399b; David Ivey 573, 513; Caleb Dillehay 163b; Rick Hoffman 68b; Lewis Frost 178; Rick Fretter 148; Mike Penny 164; Kelsey Ivey 172; Darrell Swarens 198; Ron Harper 173. Ron Harper offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with David Carlton leading 501. Leaders: Laurens Blankers 334; Sandie Scott 335; Nathan Rees 439; Randy Box 455; Richard Ivey 464; John Plunkett 71; Karen Ivey 560; John Ramsey 232; Paul Davis 192.

A business meeting was held and it was voted to retain the current slate of officers as follows: Chairman—David Carlton; Vice Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.

The singing resumed with David Ivey leading 451. Leaders: Kerene Box 146 (for her husband, Jim); David Carlton, Mary Ann Gaye, Andy Gaye, Anne Lorenze, and Virginia Kraft 236; Darrell Swarens 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); John Ramsey 341; John Plunkett 64; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 167.

David Carlton led 347 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Ron Harper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David Carlton; Vice Chairman—Tim Reynolds; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett