Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emmaus Baptist Church

Carrollton, Georgia

May 4, 1997

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church was held the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Felton Denney leading songs on pages 59 and 72b. Lonnie Rogers led the morning prayer. Leaders: Everette Denney 335, 405; Sheri Taylor 95, 203.

The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney ; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee—Jimmie Denney and Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown and Lonnie Rogers.

Leaders: Richard DeLong 370, 371, 316; Jimmie Denney 63, 68b; Dan Bailey 66, 569b, 117; Lee Rogers 312b, 187, 474; Louis Hughes 48t, 31t.


Everette Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 503. Leaders: Tokay Boggs 35, 111b, 204; Lonnie Rogers 75, 225t; Shelbie Sheppard 484, 481, 202; Josephine Denney and Kyle Williams 45t, 145b; Bernard Denney 141, 100, 155; Denny Rogers 318, 345t.


Felton Denny called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 73t. Louis Hughes led songs on pages 49b, 70t, and 347.

The memorial was given by Ruth Brown.

Richard DeLong led song on page 420 for the following deceased: Sara Duke, Jimmy Causey, Hazel Cagle, Charles Dannals, Rodger Morrison, Clelan Cobb, Vena Holley, Herman Lambert, William Headrick, and Lola Jenkins.

Lonnie Rogers led song on page 340 for the following sick and shut-ins: Ann Black, Jap Walton, Jerry Sheppard, Mozelle Sheppard, Mary Francis Daniels, Sandra Sensenback, I. V. McWhorter, Alice Edwards, Virgil Phillips, Ruby Phillips, Kim Cagle, Chuck White, and B. J. Harris.

Ruth Brown led song on page 285t, and Elder Homer Benefield closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Sherry Louvorn 373, 272, 298; Don Bowen 77b, 303, 494; Mary Florence Smith 317, 192; Eris Muse 143, 61.


Felton Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 448b. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 439; Jeanette DePoy 375, 410t; Wilford Denney 167, 159; Charlene Wallace and Carlene Griffin 511; Jacob Griffith 146, 127; Judy Mincey and Becky Camp 277, 556; Louise Holland 186, 323b; Everette Denney 55; Charlene Wallace 164. Felton Denney led song on page 56 (t? b?) as the closing song. Lonnie Rogers dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor.