Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine Memorial - St. Michael Church

Cleburne County, Alabama

April 27, 1997

The annual Alewine Memorial Sacred Harp singing at St. Michael Church in Cleburne County, Alabama was held on the fourth Sunday in April, and was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading song on page 32t. The morning prayer was led by Harvey Austin. Jeff Sheppard led songs on pages 37b and 57; Corene Laminack 59, 63; Mary Florence Smith 61, 45t.

The class organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Corene Laminack; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.

Jeff Sheppard led song on page 91 for Daphene Causey. Leaders: Harvey Austin 101t, 108t, 335 (in memory of Rufus Walker and Malone Austin); Margie Smith 31b, 35, 569b (for Sid Caldwell); Luke Allen 147t, 277; Shelbie Sheppard 155, 142, 106; Lucille McElroy 452b, 274t, 274b.


Jeff Sheppard brought the class to order leading song on page 37t. Leaders: B. M. Smith 39b, 145t, 225t; Pauline Kilgore 334, 46, 143; Louise Allen 81 (t? b?), 119, 318; Corene Laminack 358, 503; Jeff Sheppard 441.


Jeff Sheppard brought the class to order leading song on page 75. Leaders: Nell McElroy 294; Harvey Austin 49b, 100; Margie Smith 354b, 373; Luke Allen 111t; Shelbie Sheppard 38b, 448b; B. M. Smith 426t, 77t; Mary Florence Smith 74t (for I. V. McWhorter), 72b (for Alice Edwards); Lucille McElroy 56t, 435b; Louise Allen 378t, 490; Corene Laminack 457, 339; Lucille McElroy 340; Gladys McGraw and Hester Edwards 36b, 40; Corene Laminack 182; Louise Allen 212.

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard led song on page 69 (t? b?) as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Harvey Austin.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Corene Laminack; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith.