Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Goodshaw Sacred Harp Singing Day

Goodshaw Baptist Church,
Crawshawbooth, Lancashire, United Kingdom

Saturday, May 18, 2013

The 4th Goodshaw Sacred Harp Day was held at Goodshaw Baptist Church, in the United Kingdom, on Saturday before the third Sunday in May. Chris Brown began the day by leading 52t. Harry Sidebottom welcomed singers back to the church, and offered an opening prayer.

Leaders: Chris Brown 28t; Judy Whiting 171; Helen Brown 32t; Jo Vickers 37b; Hannah Land 47t; Ted Brown 49b; Eimear O’Donovan 111b; Benny Ross 166; Sarah West 39t; Sadhbh O’ Flynn 312b; Phil Tyler 157; Mike Morrisroe 57; Michael Walker 531; Jude O’Neill 31t; Ruth Steggles 225t; Niamh O’Sullivan 81t; Nadine Wills 385b; Martin Boddy 148; Ronan O’Donovan 535; Cath Tyler 318; Ella Cumber 212; Fynn Titford-Mock 412.


Chris Brown called the class back together by leading 38b (for Maria Wallace). Leaders: Hannah Land 392; Joe Vickers 474; Judy Whiting 54 (GH); Josh Darby 504; Sarah West 546; Ted Brown 338; Eimear O’Donovan 187; Phil Tyler 68t; Sadhbh O’ Flynn 224; Mike Morrisroe 372; Cath Tyler 183; Jude O’Neill 86; Ella Cumber 181; Fynn Titford-Mock 280. Ted Brown offered thanks before the noon meal.


Michael Walker called the class back to order by leading 401. Leaders: Niamh O’Sullivan 299; Helen Brown 30b; Cath Saunt 122; Ruth Steggles 47b.

Fynn Titford-Mock spoke for the following sick and housebound: Joe Taylor, Pete Watkins, Kathy Armstrong, Seamus McGuigan, Maria Wallace, Bea Gilmore, Curtis Owen, Shirley Figura, Alan Jackson, Tammy Titford-Mock, and Nigel Cumber. He led 330b.

Benny Ross conducted the memorial lesson, and read the following names of the deceased: Rita Wolfenden and Jack Lancashire—Oldham;, Betty Bower—London; David Daykin—Nottingham; Diane Brisbourne—Holmfirth; Brenda Grimshaw—Southampton; Harold Newell—Dalton; Jack O’Flynn and Finbarr Kennedy—Cork; Niall Henderson—Dublin; Eva Padgett-Florida, USA; Ann Beasley, Bud Oliver, and Bufrey Dean-Alabama, USA. He led 285t, and offered prayer to close the memorial service.


The class moved to Goodshaw Old Chapel, the oldest Baptist Chapel in the UK. There, in the singers’ pew, Hannah Land called the class to order leading 163t. Leaders: Joe Vickers 448t; Ronan O’Donovan 274t; Cath Saunt 270; Jude O’Neill 457; Mike Morrisroe 42; Sadhbh O’Flynn 522; Niamh O’Sullivan 89; Eimear O’Donovan 432; Nadine Wills 515; Josh Darby 209; Sarah West 542; Phil Tyler 217; Helen Brown and Ted Brown 77t; Michael Walker 182.

Chris Brown and Judy Whiting led 323t. Helen Brown offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Chris Brown; Secretaries—John Copperwheat and Cath Ingham