Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 3, 2013

The annual Rogers Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Ephesus Elementary School on the first Sunday in March. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Denney Rogers leading 101t. The opening prayer was offered by Louis Hughes.

Denney Rogers welcomed everyone. A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless; Memorial Committee—John Plunkett and Sherry Lovvorn.

Leaders: Nathan Rees 410b; Judy Caudle 411; Judy Chambless 472; Nate Green and Norma Green 510; Ed Thacker 183; Kathy Williams 186; John Plunkett 311; Matt Hinton 354t; Phillip Denney 168; Angela Myers 39b; Robert Chambless 163b; Rodney Ivey 419; Louis Hughes 421 (for Bud Oliver); Loyd Ivey 303; Erica Hinton 228.


Rodney Ivey led 389 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers) to bring the class back together. Leaders: Leigh Cooper 275b; Jack Nelson 32t; Sharon DuPriest 222 (in memory of Vivian Rogers); Margaret Thacker 46; Cecil Roberts 340; Mark Godfrey 33b; B.M. Smith 489; Marty Wootten 99; Jeff Sheppard 129; Oscar McGuire 573; Lela Crowder 475; Wanda Capps 299; Karlene Williams 45t; Tony Hammock 102; Judy Mincey 474; Jamey Wootten 42; Paige Harrod 112; Virginia Dyer 63.


The class was brought to order by Nathan Rees leading 100. Leaders: Hayden Arp 395; Ann Jett 146; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Jackie Tanner 172; Charlene Wallace 283; Reba Windom 436 (for Tat Bailey); David Broduer 434; Cindy Tanner 155; Margie Smith 225t; Malinda Snow 492; Fallon Cook 192; Shannon Primm 163t; Marilyn Bradley 81t. Phillip Denney offered prayer before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Judy Caudle leading 270. Leaders: Jeannette DePoy 34b (for Karen Rollins); Lou Cotney 218; Sheri Taylor 128.

The memorial lesson was conducted by John Plunkett and Sherry Lovvorn. John read a portion of a poem by the Persian poet Rumi. He read the following list of names of the deceased: Nancy McCormick, Carlton Crenshaw, Marion Thornton, Hershel Parmer, Julietta Haynes, Violet Thomason, Gertie DeLong, Nancy Yeager, Harrison Creel, Charles Creel, Ernie Jett, and Bill Tanner. Nathan Rees led 48t in memory of the deceased.

Sherry Lovvorn read the following list of names of sick and shut-ins: Franklin Rogers, Ila Crenshaw, Jerry Rollins, Durell Langley, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S. T Reed, Lessie Reed, Tat Bailey, Betty Wright, Teenie Moody, and Eloise Wootten. Sherry Lovvorn, Paige Harrod, Karlene Williams, and Denney Rogers led 143. Cecil Roberts closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Mincey 538; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 570; Sharon DuPriest and Reba Windom 195 (for Shelbie Sheppard); Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner 512 (in memory of Harrison Creel); Anna Hinton 40; Loyd Ivey, Cheyenne Ivey, and Rodney Ivey 318 (for Eloise Wootten); Louise Holland 178; Eli Hinton 268; Jeff Sheppard and Tony Hammock 121; Hayden Arp, David Broduer, and Fallon Cook 269; Cecil Roberts, Oscar McGuire, and Phillip Denney 229; Kathy Williams, Shannon Primm, and Malinda Snow 106; John Plunkett, Jeannette DePoy, and Lela Crowder 298; Erica Hinton, Matt Hinton, Mark Godfrey, and Leigh Cooper 440; Judy Caudle, Angela Myers, and Jackie Tanner 166; B.M. Smith, Margie Smith, and Charlene Wallace 448b; Jack Nelson, Donna Bell, and Sheri Taylor 480; Louise Holland, Robert Chambless, Nathan Rees, and Judy Chambless 274t.

Denney Rogers, Nathan Rees, and Judy Caudle led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Plunkett, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Nathan Rees; Secretary—Judy Caudle