Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

North Carolina Sacred Harp All-Day Singing

Pullen Memorial Baptist Chapel, Raleigh, North Carolina

Saturday, March 2, 2013

The North Carolina Sacred Harp All-Day Singing was held at Pullen Memorial Baptist Chapel, Raleigh, North Carolina, on Saturday before the first Sunday in March. Debra Brogden called the class to order, and led 49t. Sally Owens offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected: Chairman—Derek Lane; Treasurer—Rick Motylinski; Secretary—Kathy Kaiser; Chaplain—Sally Owens.

Leaders: Derek Lane 48t; John Feddersen 46; Lynda Hambourger 81t; Suzanne Newton 350; Rick Motylinski 90, 40; Erin Newton 434; Rich Hammer 452; Robert Stoddard 332; Pat Temple 33t; Corrone Bryant 73b; Michele Dohse 59; Les Updike 373; Nancy Newell 155.


Derek Lane led 38b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Eric Conrad 300; Mary Wright 328; Jamie Latimer 163b; Marlen Ruegg and Jamie Latimer 66; Leyland delRe 266; Lisa Brown 254; Nora Miller 171; Cleve Callison 276; Ian Madden 344; Adrienne Robertson 455; Matt Prumheller 117; Deborah Brogden 125; Rich Motylinski 82t.


The class reconvened with Eric Conrad leading 107. Leaders: Kathy Kaiser 131t; Kyle Johnston 99; Mary Julia Street 128; Erin Newton 573.

Sally Owen conducted the memorial lesson, noting that Sacred Harp singers are “surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses”. Erin Newton led 477 in memory of the following deceased: Donna Steely; Nancy Wyllie—Pennsylvania; Sherri Merritt, Henry Bizzell, Ruby Callison, Peggy Loddengaard—North Carolina; Frances Cloe and Mary Stuart Cloe—Virginia; Larry Street—Alabama; Shirley Horhota—New Jersey; Jean Hall—Georgia.

Lynda Hambourger led 340 for the following sick and shut-ins: Walter Hartley, Sidney Stafford, Patty Ellis, Judy Embleton, and Patty Allison.

Leaders: Derek Lane 56b; Robert Stoddard 396; Suzanne Newton 503; Michele Dohse 479.


The class resumed singing with Lisa Brown leading 410t. Leaders: John Feddersen 217; Rich Hammer 63; Mary Wright 546; Nancy Newell 282; Ian Madden 159; Nora Miller 542; Cleve Callison 189; Adrienne Robertson 153; Corrone Bryant 524; Lynda Hambourger 183; Les Updike 347; Pat Temple 34b.


Leland delRe led 26 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Bridget Camden and Kathy Kaiser 547; Marlen Ruegg and Jamie Latimer 178; Jamie Latimer 236; Matt Prumheller 215; Michelle Dohse 294; Robert Stoddard 436; Nora Miller 425; Suzanne Newton 299; Mary Wright 35; Corrone Bryant 77b; Les Updike 313b; Pat Temple 566; Adrienne Robertson 96.


The Shenandoah Harmony, newly published in 2013, was introduced by Leyland delRe and used for the remaining session of the day. Leaders: Leland del Re 1 (ShH); Robert Stoddard 152 (ShH); Nora Miller 3 (ShH); Bridget Camden and Les Updike 431 (ShH); Debra Brogden 108 (ShH); Pat Temple 11 (ShH); Ben Hartland 15 (ShH); Eric Conrad 373b (ShH); Adrienne Robertson 109 (ShH); John Feddersen 438 (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Leyland delRe and Alice Sloop viii, Leland delRe 22b (ShH).

Derek Lane led 62 as the closing song. Sally Owens offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Derek Lane; Secretary—Kathy Kaiser