Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Stapleford Sacred Harp Singing

St. Luke’s Church, Stapleford, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Saturday, November 10, 2012

The annual Stapleford Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Helen Brown leading 52t. Michael Walker offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Helen Brown; Arranging Committee—Dave Richardson and Ian West; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders.

Leaders: Ian West 84; Margaret Gillanders 39t; Ted Brown 511t (CB); Judy Whiting 268b (CB); Dave Richardson 45b (CB); Ella Cumber 65; Michael Walker 416t (CB); Cath Saunt 276; Fynn Titford-Mock 47t (CB); Rebecca Over 225t (CB); Chris Brown 541; Hannah Land 48t; Duane Nasis 229; Sarah West 393t (CB); Carmel Wood 442; Nadine Wells 376; Aldo Ceresa 375; Ruth Steggles 454; Ian West 98 (CB); Helen Brown 47b; Margaret Gillanders 573 (CB).


The class was called back together by Ted Brown leading 111b. Leaders: Judy Whiting 222; Dave Richardson 303 (for Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Ella Cumber 77t; Michael Walker and Duane Nasis 475; Cath Saunt 122; Fynn Titford-Mock 240; Chris Brown 205; Hannah Land 224; Duane Nasis 216.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Ted Brown. The following deceased were remembered: Gordon Corrrick, Joe Reynolds, Brenda Grimshaw, Harold Newell, Malcolm Robertson; Sirka Tolppa, Jean Hill, Ivor Alsopp, Chris Monro, Lonnie Rogers, Maureen Gamlin, Peter Schoonjans, and David Daykin.

The following sick and housebound were named: Tony Parkinson, Curtis Owen, Bea Gilmore, Alan Jackson, John Hill, Carl Morrison, Sigmund, Al Atkinson, Irene Bown, Pat, Geoff, Don Walker, and Charlotte Walker. Ted Brown led 30t for all those named and closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sarah West 225t; Aldo Ceresa 426b; Nadine Wills 66; Ian West 392 (CB); Helen Brown 559 (CB); Michael Walker 336; Margaret Gillanders 133 (CB); Dave Richardson 335; Judy Whiting 546; Fynn Titford-Mock 298. Gillian White asked the blessing for the mid-day meal.


Hannah Land led 507b (CB) to begin the afternoon session. Leaders: Ella Cumber 455; Ted Brown 391; Rebecca Over 567, 506; Cath Saunt and Fynn Titford-Mock 362; Chris Brown 551; Jen Codrington and Hannah Land 339; Aldo Ceresa 522; Carmel Wood 217; Duane Nasis 411; Sarah West 567; Ruth Steggles 318; Ian West 330t; Nadine Wills 168; Helen Brown 319; Michael Walker 436; Margaret Gillanders 187; Dave Richardson 278t; Judy Whiting 456; Fynn Titford-Mock 144; Hannah Land 145t; Ella Cumber 89; Ted Brown 445.


The class was called to order by Ian West leading 500 (CB). Leaders: Rebecca Over 527; Cath Saunt 159; Aldo Ceresa 399b; Jen Codrington 481; Ruth Steggles 497; Sarah West 385b; Chris Brown and Carmel Wood 447; Carmel Wood 349; Duane Nasis 201; Helen Brown 365; Michael Walker 411 (CB); Judy Whiting 384; Aldo Ceresa 548; Nadine Wills 448b; Dave Richardson 473; Ella Cumber 40; Fynn Titford-Mock 69t.

Following announcements and thanks, Helen Brown led 347 as the closing song. Michael Walker offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders