Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Newcastle Upon Tyne Sacred Harp Singing

St. Bartholomew’s Church Hall, Benton,
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom

Saturday, June 9, 2012

The 8th annual Newcastle singing was called to order by Benny Ross, who welcomed the class and led 49t. Cath Tyler offered the opening prayer, and then taught a singing school, which concluded with the singing of 47t.

Leaders: Sinéad Hanrahan 547; Sarah West 28t; Nadine Wills 282; Pauline Hyde 535; Fynn Titford-Mock 42; Anne Eringan 448t; Benny Ross 540; Anna Baldini 299; Sarah Hill 56b; Judy Whiting 492; Amanda Parkes 430; Cath Tyler 214; Kevin Kennedy 348t; Carmel Wood 217.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Benny Ross; Secretary—Colin Monson.


Sarah West called the class back together. Leaders: Matthew Ord 228; Sally Greaves-Lord 385b; Harry Campbell 77t; Lisa O’Grady 114; Joe Vickers 472; Shereen Benjamin 107; Chris Brown 102; Helen Barber 313b; Geoff Grainger 441; Colleen Jones 122; Josh Darby 47b; Ewan Paterson 277; Phil Tyler 369.

Cath Tyler conducted the memorial lesson and led 499 in memory of Joyce Jew, Alex Cowan, Ben Dickens, Maddy Hobson, Harrison Creel—Alabama USA, Marie Ivey—Alabama USA, Gordon Corrick—Hull, Joe Reynolds—Denmead, Lonnie Rogers—Georgia, USA, Julietta Haynes—Tennessee USA, Mark Ferguson—Mayo Ireland, Adrian Snaith—Mansfield, Glynn Brooks—Mansfield, Frank Evans—Virginia USA.

Sally Greaves-Lord spoke for the sick and housebound and led 68b for Reg Ardagh, Brenda Grimshaw, Tony Parkinson, Pauline McPartland, Virginia Glass, Don Walker, Charlotte Walker, Elizabeth Dumpleton, Anne Greaves-Lord, Jay Booker, Lilian Sillito, Margaret Hyde, Cath Saunt, Patrick Morrow, John Turner, Mike Morrisroe, Gordon Wilsher, George Loble, Jeff Sheppard, and Laura Densmore.

Sinéad Hanrahan, Amanda Parkes, Lisa O’Grady, Colleen Jones, Pauline Hyde, and Kevin Kennedy led 163b in memory of Mark Ferguson (Fark), tragically killed the previous week. Lin James gave thanks for the midday meal, and led 180.


Sarah West called the class to order by leading 401. Leaders: Simon Dumpleton 84; Sinéad Hanrahan 542; Fynn Titford-Mock 232; Pauline Hyde 318; Chris West 319; Anna Baldini 86; Shereen Benjamin 339; Sarah Hill 551; Amanda Parkes 497; Ewan Paterson 49b; Colleen Jones 344; Carmel Wood 383; Kevin Kennedy 213b; Sally Greaves-Lord 216; Joe Vickers 353; Helen Barber 350; Benny Ross 496.


Matthew Ord called the class back to order. Leaders: Phil Tyler 99; Josh Darby 203; Judy Whiting 466; Amanda Parkes 31t; Anne Eringan 148; Harry Campbell 117; Shereen Benjamin 268; Cath Tyler 278t; Geoff Grainger 564; Sarah West 480; Simon Dumpleton 354t; Fynn Titford-Mock 82t; Sinéad Hanrahan 209.

Benny Ross extended thanks to all those who had helped during the day, and led 347 as the closing song. Cath Tyler offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Benny Ross; Secretary—Colin Monson