Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Hope Singing School Singing

New Hope Community Church, Jones Chapel, Alabama

Sunday, January 15, 2012

New Hope Community Church, located five miles south of Jones Chapel, Alabama, hosted a Sacred Harp singing school on January 13, 14, and 15, 2012. Dr. Tom Malone, from Massachusetts, conducted the singing school. More than sixty students and guests were in attendance at various times during the three-day singing school session. After the singing school, a singing was held on Sunday afternoon.

After a brief review of the singing school lessons, which were taught during the three days by Tom Malone, Butch White opened the afternoon singing by leading 37b. Prayer was offered by Reuben Williams.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Christopher Mann; Vice Chairman—Anna Grace Sipe; Arranging Officer—Nicholas Mann; Secretary—Theresa Westmoreland.

Leaders: Christopher Mann 32t; Anna Grace Sipe 178; Nicholas Mann 97; Benjamin Clay and Mary Frances Clay 87; William Clay 105; Eli Dyson 278t; Will Stallings 27; Bekah Lauren Clay 45t; Delone Cobbs 39b; Jennifer Clay 159; Essie Hollingsworth 72b; Hudson family 26; Nancy Tuck 335; Carly Westmoreland 59; Jim Pate 358; Pam Rosser 142; Leah Commer and Sarah Commer 47b; Linda Sides 225t; Ottis Sides 235; Dick Nail and Sarah Commer 288; Tom Malone 316; Geraldine Sharpton 318.


The class was called back together by Christopher Mann leading 101t. Leaders: Danica Thornton 278b; Londa Pate 312b; Ernestine Parker 81t; Joyce White 323b; Butch White 503; Buell Cobb 74b; Tom Malone and Buell Cobb 313b; Theresa Westmoreland 39t; Judy Caudle 76t; Dylan Feezell 435; Beth Branscome 73b; Theresa Westmoreland, Tom Malone, Geraldine Sharpton, and Jennifer Clay 462; Tom Malone and Delone Cobbs 312t.

Christopher Mann led 347 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with closing prayer offered by Delone Cobbs.

Chairman—Christopher Mann; Vice Chairman—Anna Grace Sipe; Secretary—Theresa Westmoreland