Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Singing

Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church, Dallas, Texas

Saturday, November 12, 2011

The annual Dallas County Sacred Harp Singing was held at the Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Rick Foreman leading 59. Scott Buie offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 492; Sonny Erwin 171; Ben Brown 280; Diane Ross 209; Jerry Ryan 145t; Sarah Huckaby 475; Ron Ryan 213t; Linda Booker 34b; Donald Ross 550; Leon Ballinger 195; Stephanie Turney 159; Beverly Coates 107; Kris Wiggins 481; Catherine Rogan 318; Reed Coates 472; Cassie Allen 129; Tollie Lee 270; Alexa Gilmore 384; Esther Huckaby 358; Josh Rogan 434; Claudene Townson 29t; Ben Copenhaver 397; Lindsey Wiggins 383; John Beard 58.


Rick Foreman called the class back together by leading 56t. Leaders: Priscilla Wiggins 344; Scott Curran 500; Syble Adams 300; Mike Hinton 480; Laurie Miller and Sadie Miller 29t; Vivian Rogan 163b; Jeff Miller 569b; Tamara Harris 228; Gaylon Powell 131t; Sadie Miller 45t.

Chloe Webb and Tollie Lee conducted the memorial lesson. Chloe Webb read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Leland Owen, Aaron Shirazi, John Merritt, Lonnie Rogers, Louise Miles, Kristie Powell, Susan Kerr, Harrison Creel, and Bud Oliver. She led 86.

Tollie Lee read the following names of the deceased: Marie Ivey, Ernestine Pipkin, Travis Keeton, and Clarence McCool—Alabama. He led 503 in their memory, and closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Sonny Erwin and Virginia Glass 143; Tammy Powell 454; Katie Mahoney 399b; Bruce Coates 313b; Janie Short 442; Chris Nicholson 314; Michelle Rogan 196. Bruce Coates offered a prayer for the noon meal.


Rick Foreman called the class to order by leading 448t. Leaders: Cheryl Foreman 546; Sonny Erwin 568; Avon Miller 193; Sarah Huckaby 37b; Josh Rogan 410t; Linda Booker 490; Leon Ballinger 460; Catherine Rogan 299; Laurie Miller and Sadie Miller 388; John Beard 288; Alexa Gilmore 131b; Scott Curran 532; Lindsey Wiggins 222; Syble Adams 445; Reed Coates 327; Janie Short 330t; Claudene Townson, Syble Adams, Virginia Glass, and Larry Wootten 421; Mike Hinton 373; Tammy Powell 542; Chris Nicholson 39t; Katie Mahoney 72b; Bruce Coates 176b.

A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rick Foreman; Vice Chairman—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Cheryl Foreman.


Rick Foreman called the class to order by leading 168. Leaders: Ron Ryan 368; Ben Copenhaver (original composition); Michelle Rogan 269; Priscilla Wiggins 284; Jerry Ryan 319; Lu Ann Thomas 63; Kris Wiggins 198; Cassie Allen 326; Diane Ross 350; Tollie Lee 68b; Tamara Harris 176t; Gaylon Powell 165; Vivian Rogan 47b; Donald Ross 225t; Beverly Coates 46.

Rick Foreman, Cheryl Foreman, and Sonny Erwin led 549 as the closing song. Mike Hinton dismissed the class with a prayer.

Chairman—Rick Foreman; Vice Chairman—Kris Wiggins; Secretary—Cheryl Foreman