Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church

Douglas, Alabama

Sunday, May 15, 2011

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church, Douglas, Alabama, was held on the third Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Jackson Harcrow leading 32t and 36b. Elder Stoney Dorning welcomed the class and offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow; Arranging Committee—Jackie Tanner.

Leaders: Susan Harcrow 63, 186; Jackie Tanner 40, 89; Cheyenne Ivey 276 (in memory of Ernestine Pipkin), 77t; Robert Walker 84, 143; Sharon Brown and Gail Jenkins 49b; Jason Simmons 68b; David Light 200, 318; Angela Myers 178, 350; Ed Thacker 546, 91; Blake Sisemore 144, 411; Donna Wootten 155, 74b; Marlin Beasley 460, 336; Bridgett Kennedy 31t, 37b (in memory of Mattie Townsel); Chris Ballinger 472, 477.


Susan Harcrow led 85 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Aaron Wootten and Sarah Vaughn 56t, 101t; Henry Johnson 52b, 88t; Judy Caudle 277, 564; Jamey Wootten 47t; Linda Thomas 106; Nate Green 206, 378b; Loyd Ivey 275b; Loyd Ivey and Susan Harcrow 426t (for Bud Oliver), 426b; Cindy Tanner 368, 269; Dennis George 278b, 545; Jared Wootten 217; Stephanie Dorning, Amelia Dorning, Lucas Dorning, and Jacob Dorning 354b, 282; Larry Ballinger 286, 358 (for John Merritt); Mark Brown 378t.


The afternoon session was called to order by Jackson Harcrow and Blake Sisemore leading 76b. Leaders: Shane Wootten 65, 278t; Elene Stovall 298, 470 (for tornado victims); David Ivey 114, 360; Henry Guthery 436, 434; Butch White 86, 29b; Rodney Ivey and Stoney Dorning 75, 45t; Susan Allred 183, 480; Susan Harcrow 267 (in memory of Junior Whitten and Jean Patterson); Chris Ballinger and Donna Wootten 512; Bridgett Kennedy 391; Henry Johnson 96; Judy Caudle 389 (for Lonnie Rogers); David Light 208; Angela Myers and Judy Caudle 500; Dennis George 383.

Jackson Harcrow, Susan Harcrow, and Jackie Tanner led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Stoney Dorning, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow