Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church

Ider, DeKalb County, Alabama

Sunday, April 10, 2011

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Antioch Baptist Church, Ider, Alabama, was held on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten leading 82t. The opening prayer was offered by Jeffrey Wootten.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairmen—Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten 36b, 171; David Ivey 29b; Rodney Ivey 157; Jackson Harcrow 224; Riley Lee 165; Blake Sisemore 456; Brenda Carroll 384; Eddie Mash 174; Jeffrey Wootten and Dewayne Wootten 460, 274t; Johnny Lee 503; Marty Wootten 546; Terry Hullett 122; Clarke Lee 56b; Laura Densmore 101b; Linda Thomas and Reba Windom 472 (for Louis Hughes); S.T. Reed 146; Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Jewell Wootten 48t; Susan Cherones 74b; Billy Thompson 49b; David Killingsworth and Seth Killingsworth 448t; Michele Cull 33b; Bill Beverly 436 (in honor of Martha’s birthday); Aaron Little 354t.


The class was brought back to order by Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten leading 101t. Leaders: Mark Carroll 47b; Claudine Townson and family 540 (CB), 505 (CB); Judy Mincey 538; Saylors family 196, 142; Charles Meitinger 163t; Carolyn Bullock, Marlon Wootten, and Brenda Carroll 376; Kennedy Wootten and Sarah Vaughn 29t, 388; Phillip Wootten and family 106, 203; Levon Wootten 46; Britt Mann, Jenny Mann, Karolina Mann, and Kaylee Mann 45t, 559 (CB).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Shane Wootten. He spoke and led 163b in memory of the following deceased: Bob Meek—Kentucky; Jerry Enright—Illinois; George Jones—Texas; George Seiler—New York; Mary Florence Smith—Georgia; Billy Williams and Myrtle Wootten—Alabama.

Aaron Wootten led 426t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: John Merritt, Teresa Parker, Corine Lacy, Louis Hughes, Virginia Cowart, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, Bill Greeson, and Linda Little. Phillip Wootten offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: David Hufstetler 378t; Laura Clawson 28b; Steve Killingsworth 59; Judy Chambless 549; Peter Golden 58. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Johnny Lee.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten leading 129. Leaders: Jared Wootten 441; Annaliza Cull 268; Jamey Wootten 182; Gene Wootten, Larry Wootten, Virginia Glass, Beulah Ann York, and Jerry Creason 465 (CB); Johnny Lee and Clarke Lee 96 (CB); Judy Caudle 500; Julietta Haynes 192; Larry Ballinger, Linton Ballinger, and Lisa Geist 269 (for Leon Ballinger); Terry Wootten 209; Robin Smith, Syble Adams, and Olivia Allen 572 (CB); Kathe Pilibosian 365; Pat Callahan 266; Henry Johnson 231; Shane O’Neal, Mary Elizabeth O’Neal, and Julie Lee 511t (CB); Gillian Inksetter 34t; Martha Beverly 383; Melanie Hauff and Judy Hauff 271t; Mel Kersey 175; Phil Summerlin 348b; Robert Chambless 225t; Angela Myers 448b; Judy Hauff 83t; Jerry Creason 276; Chris Holley and Kathe Pilibosian 201; Reba Windom 542; Loyd Ivey, Hobert Ivey, Eloise Wootten, Lorrie Wootten, and Marion Biddle 454; Holly Watson and Blake Sisemore 69t; Darlene Dalton 277; Joel Jenkins and Shane Wootten 496 (for Louis Hughes); Jenny Mann “Sweet Beulah Land”; Terry Wootten, Levon Wootten, and Dewayne Wootten “Pass Me Not”.

Announcements were made. Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten led 97 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Phil Summerlin, and the class was dismissed.

Chairmen—Shane Wootten and Aaron Wootten; Secretary—Judy Caudle