Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Southern Wisconsin Singing

Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin

Saturday, November 13, 2010

The 24th annual Southern Wisconsin all-day singing was held at Plum Grove Church, Folklore Village Farm, Dodgeville, Wisconsin, on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Renee Arbisi leading 34t. David Hoffelt offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Val Dunagan 171; Peter Bradley 344; Johanna Fabke 504; Carol Crawford 31t; Lisa Grayson 411; Bruce Western 56b; Lou Kujawinski 489; Ben Copenhaver 164; Colette Miller 348b; Rochelle Lodder 148; Francis Gurtz 475; Bill Rintz 268; Julie Vea 269; Judy Hauff 434; Christine Stevens 542; Denise Kania 500; Lester Sontag 276; Steven Schmidgall 567.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairperson—Marjorie Matthews; Arranging Committee—Jim Page; Chaplain—David Hoffelt; Finance committee—Carl Houtman; Secretary—Val Dunagan.

Leaders: Marjorie Matthews 350; Michael Appert 485; Peggy Mistak 496; Paul Wyatt 456; Gillian Inksetter 433; Melanie Hauff 421; Martha Henderson 57; Sasha Maslanka 38t; Michael Moore 487; Jim Pfau 474.

Jim Crawford and Carol Crawford conducted the memorial lesson. Jim Crawford led 163b for the following deceased: Cindy Kissee—Minnesota; Uel Freeman, Willie Mae Moon, Thurman “Shorty” Nall, and Billy Williams—Alabama; George Seiler—New York; Leone Willkorn, Vernon Stepp, and Marguerite Elliott—Wisconsin; Jerry Enright, Harvey Walden, Jr., and Larry Devocelle—Illinois; Margaret Larijani—Oklahoma; Alex Lowenstein—California; Cliff Gillette—Tennessee; Arlene Miller—New Jersey.

Carol Crawford led 70t for the following sick and shut-ins: Bob Meek, Don Bowen, Mary Jean McGuire, Penny Pixler, Helena Wortham, John Blattner, Beth Kirby, Claire Sullivan, Anne Feeney, Joyce Anderson, Bob Anderson, Bob Scorgie, and Annie Grieshop. David Hoffelt closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Ted Mercer 36t; Lori Graber 172; Carol Buche 178; Michael Mosely 540. The lunch blessing was given by David Hoffelt.


Tom Hurlbut called the class to order leading 145t. Leaders: Midge Olsen 454; Idy Kiser 362; Will Fitzgerald 444; Karen Swenson 442; Martha Beverly 428; Jim Helke 151; Janet Fraembs 217; Carl Houtman 319; John Seaton 47t; Jim Page “County K”; Peggy Brayfield 149; Gordon Olsen 497; Bill Beverly 547; Kim Bahmer 370.


Peggy Brayfield called the class to order leading 40. Leaders: Ryan Wheeler 201; Scott Schroeder 277; Jan Ketelle 300 (in memory of Jerry Enright); Eleanor Haase 384; Peter Newman 186; Cody Hunter 479; Noelle Copeland 480; Penny Kujawinski 383; Julie Vea 209 (for Joyce Anderson); Rochelle Lodder 313b; Gillian Inksetter 392; Lester Sontag 471; Lisa Grayson 448t; Michael Moore 223. Carl Houtman announced that we met our expenses, plus a donation to Folklore Village.


Eleanor Haase called the class to order leading 32t. Leaders: Judy Hauff 306; Sasha Maslanka 155; David Hoffelt 231; Jim Crawford and Mary Crawford 546; Zack Row-Heyveld 189; Tom Hurlbut 196; Marjorie Matthews 193; Martha Henderson 374; Lori Graber 472; Melanie Hauff 271t; Lou Kujawinski 312b.

Marjorie Matthews led 347 as the closing song. David Hoffelt offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairperson—Marjorie Matthews; Secretary—Val Dunagan