Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 7, 2010

The annual memorial singing for Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers was held at Ephesus School on the first Sunday in March. Singing commenced at 9:30 a.m. with Denney Rogers leading 101t. Henry Johnson offered prayer.

Stanley Edwards led 59 and Karen Rollins led 36b. A short business session was held. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith.

Mayor Denney Rogers welcomed everyone. Leaders: Henry Johnson 87; Wanda Capps 546; Jackie Tanner 123t; Louise Holland 434; Mike Spencer 382; Sarah Jenkins 314; Bud Oliver 421; Blake Sisemore 129; Cindy Tanner 155; Nate Green and Norma Green 77t, 548; Robert Kelly 392; Ed Thacker 542; Shannon Primm 448b; Jared Wootten 460; Bridgett Hill 440; Harrison Creel 342; Scott Ivey 182; Jan House 148; Jackson Harcrow 385b.


Stanley Edwards brought the class back to order by leading 398. Leaders: Myron House 102; Larry Ballinger 528; Joan Aldridge 521; Richard Mauldin 378t (in memory of his father); Pearl Guier 45t; Tony Hammock 83b; Cheyenne Ivey 33b; Dennis George 396; Judy Caudle 462; Jonathan Smith 222; Helen Bryson 340; David Ivey 298; Randa Harris and Barry Rollins 268; Henry Guthery 456; Elene Stovall 534; Earl Ballinger 530; Emily Creel 455; John Plunkett 351; Jeanette DePoy 376.


The class was brought back together by Stanley Edwards leading 373. Leaders: Danny Creel 472; Lonnie Rogers 389, 141; Marty Wootten 475; Lela Crowder 138t; Yancy Jett 64; Shelbie Sheppard 372; Rodney Ivey 511; Judy Chambless 531; B.M. Smith 225t; Erica Hinton 500; Nathan Rees 439; Jane Spencer 501; Oscar McGuire 485. Jeff Sheppard offered the prayer before the noon meal.


Denney Rogers brought the afternoon session to order by leading 46. Loyd Ivey led 204 and Jade Thompson led 59.

The memorial lesson was then held. Karen Rollins and Paige Harrod made a few remarks and called the names of the following deceased singers and friends: Victoria Bolles—Massachusetts; Ves Childs and Ray Tate—Arkansas; Katherine Worthington, Jimmie Denney, Alvaretta Williams, Louis Allen, Evelyn Rogers, Frank Block, Sam Hinton, Peggy Cates, Kim Meeks, and Gwen Price—Georgia; Corene White, Willie Mae Moon, Charlotte McCarn, and Thurman Nall—Alabama; Tyre Denney—Kentucky. The children of Lonnie Rogers (Karen Rollins, Karleen Williams, Paige Harrod, Sherry Lovvorn, and Denney Rogers) led 111t in memory of these people.

Charlene Wallace led 143 for the following sick and shut-ins: Beau Caldwell, Andy Worthington, Bernice Rogers, Parrie Reimer, Lois Bowman, Mary F. Smith, Clarence McCool, Mary Martha Fox, Glen Edwards, Sammie Oliver, Hobert Ivey, Darrell Swarens, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Virginia Laster, Mildred Holcombe, and Josephine Denney. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 187; Daphene Causey 186; Matt Hinton 422; Sharon DuPriest and Danny Creel 269; Robert Chambless 73b; Richard DeLong and Jackson Harcrow 507; Tom McGraw 91; Malinda Snow 27; Earlis McGraw 284; Judy Mincey 474; Jerry Creason 189; Gene Duke and Donna Duke 276.


The children of Lonnie Rogers brought the class together by leading 358 (by request). Leaders: Jack Nelson 560; Joyce Whittington and Elene Stovall 299; Buell Cobb 131b; Sheri Taylor and Laura Frye 405; Phillip Denney and Curtis Spivey 192; Lou Cotney 300; Cecil Roberts 138b; Lisa Webb 294; Ann Simpson 354b; Sandra Wilkinson 176b.

Announcements were made. Denney Rogers, Stanley Edwards, and Karen Rollins led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by David Ivey, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins