Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

J. D. Starnes Memorial

Mt. Hope Baptist Church, northeast of Sipsey, Alabama

Sunday, February 7, 2010

The J. D. Starnes Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Mt. Hope Baptist Church on the first Sunday in February. Ken Tate called the class to order leading 426t. Danny Creel offered the morning prayer. The pastor, Patrick Watson, welcomed everyone. Ken Tate led 37b.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ken Tate; Vice Chairman—Yancey Jett; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Willodean Barton.

Leaders: Yancey Jett 64, 108b; Margaret Keeton 203, 183; Willodean Barton 63, 101t; Anne Chalker 146, 235; Don Robertson 89, 151; Travis Keeton 460, 290; Stella Pratt 318, 40; Ozella Blackmon 112; Ann Jett 47b (in memory of Thurman Nall), 496; Richard Mauldin 69t, 68b (for Darrell Swarens and Hobert Ivey).


The class was called back together by Yancey Jett leading 42. Leaders: Danny Creel 456 (for Henry Guthery), 177; Josie Hyde 477 (for Arley Harper), 434; Wanda Capps 299, 298; Amber Davis 204, 192, 198; Don Robertson 142, 216; Anne Chalker 146 (by request, for Patrick Watson); Ken Tate and Patrick Watson 147t, 45t. Patrick Watson offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Ken Tate leading 47t. Leaders: Heaven Watson “When One Thousand Angels Cry”; Travis Keeton 340; Hannah Tate 124, 542; Ann Jett 546, 143 (in memory of Charlotte McCarn); Harrison Creel 111b, 498, 342; Danny Creel 383; Amber Davis 337; Wanda Capps 222, 224; Yancey Jett 44, 35; Richard Mauldin 445, 270; Don Robertson 410t; Ernestine Parker 81t (for her daughter-in-law); Wanda Capps 166; Danny Creel and Yancey Jett 472; Ken Tate 234.

Ken Tate and Yancey Jett led 275t as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Ken Tate; Vice Chairman—Yancey Jett; Secretary—Margaret Keeton