Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jordan’s Chapel Methodist Church

Newell, Randolph County, Alabama

Sunday, October 25, 2009

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Jordan’s Chapel Methodist Church was held on the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Stanley Edwards leading 59. Rev. Brian Moore, pastor of the church, offered the morning prayer.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Honorary Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Stanley Edwards 56t; Earlis McGraw 163t, 385t; Henry Johnson 288, 88t; Floy Wilder 389, 350; Robert Chambless 452, 159; Ed Thacker 498, 460; Charlene Wallace 79, 135; Lonnie Rogers 97, 222, 373; Cecil Roberts 283, 285t; Karen Rollins 405, 36b; Marilyn Bradley 47b, 47t (for Paige Gilbert).


Stanley Edwards brought the class back to order leading 73t. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 155, 171; Nell Estes 40, 120, 186; Shannon Primm 344, 569t; John Plunkett 52b, 88b; Ruth Daniel 335, 378t; Eschol Hughes 204, 197; Michael Walker 410b, 434; Evelyn Harris 32t, 30t; Ann Simpson 445, 354b; Judy Chambless 472, 276; Frank Bell Reaves, Pam Williams, and Sue Barker (descendants of Frank Bell, organizer of this singing) 399b, 339; Earlis McGraw 225t; Henry Johnson 535; Floy Wilder 441; Robert Chambless 503. Rev. Brian Moore offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Stanley Edwards leading 560. Leaders: Ed Thacker 428; Charlene Wallace 327; Cecil Roberts 30b (in memory of Bobby Jackson); Marilyn Bradley 34t; Oscar McGuire 358; Shannon Primm 448b (for Carlene Griffin); Nell Estes 112; John Plunkett 308; Eschol Hughes 348b; Michael Walker 377; Ann Simpson 123b; Nellie Mae White 312t; Judy Chambless 540; Michael Walker, John Plunkett, and Oscar McGuire 500; Charlene Wallace and Earlis McGraw 165, 333; Shannon Primm and Henry Johnson 332; Ed Thacker and Eschol Hughes 367; Evelyn Harris, Ruth Daniel, and Nellie Mae White 45t, 127; Cecil Roberts, Judy Chambless, and Marilyn Bradley 81t.

Following announcements, Stanley Edwards led 62 as the closing song. Theron Williams offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairman—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Judy Chambless