Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Liberty Hill Church, Barnesville, Georgia

Sunday, October 4, 2009

The 90th session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by President Oscar McGuire leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Wayne Watson.

Leaders: Oscar McGuire 145t; Lela Crowder 421, 283; Bentley McGuire 43, 505; Mary Brownlee 47b, 291; Wayne Watson 48b, 348b; David Grant 400, 378t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Bentley McGuire; Nominating Committee—Wesley Haley and Raymond Hamrick; Memorial Committee—Lela Crowder and Helen Bryson; Arranging Committee—Mary Brownlee.

Leaders: John Hollingsworth 47t, 48t; Sharon Hamrick 460, 276.


Oscar McGuire brought the class together leading 73b. Leaders: Helen Bryson 102, 299; Tony Hammock 347, 500; Sandra Wilkinson 406, 498; John Plunkett 164, 207; Patty Dancy 155, 159; Richard DeLong 197, 205; Rita Haley 268, 63; Robert Kelley 371, 329.

A motion was made, seconded, and carried that the class go into a business session, and the following officers were confirmed for 2010: President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—Lela Crowder; Secretary/Treasurer—Bentley McGuire; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Mary Brownlee; Chaplain—Wayne S. Watson; Assistant Chaplain—David Grant.

The list of singings scheduled for the coming year were reviewed and confirmed (see list of singings for 2010). The Business Session was concluded with Treasurer’s Report.


Lela Crowder brought the class together leading 332. Leaders: Rosemund Watson 203, 229; Billy Hollingsworth 350, 236; Malinda Snow 548, 540; Wesley Haley 34b, 273; Raymond Hamrick 71, 231; Charlene Wallace 287, 479.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson leading 475 for the following sick and shut-ins: Violet Thomason, Lonnie Rogers, Glenna Randall, and Robert Chambless.

Lela Crowder led 440 in memory of the following deceased: Nora Roberts, Wanda Tally (Tony Hammock’s aunt), Elder Gerald Hand, Jane Bruner, Richard Johnson, and Jimmie Denney. John Plunkett closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Michael Spencer 29b, 382; Mollie Ellis 317, 30t.


Oscar McGuire brought the class together leading 57. Leaders: Carol Hanson 434, 45t; Matt Hinton 151, 203; Martha Harrell 178, 77t; Russ Hanson 270; Erica Hinton 549, 405; Timothy Haley 117, 384.

After announcements, Oscar McGuire and Lela Crowder led 62 as the closing song. Hugh McGraw offered the closing prayer.

President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Bentley McGuire