Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

Saturday, August 15, 2009

The 143rd session of the Boiling Springs Convention was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in August at Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama. The class was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

Eugene Forbes welcomed everyone to the convention and a business session was held. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Floy Wilder; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Eugene Forbes 101t; Floy Wilder 299, 120; Judy Chambless 146, 162; Donna Bell 229, 317; Oscar McGuire 371; Pam Nunn 186, 361; Pearl Guier 59, 303; Karen Swenson 183, 460; Robert Chambless 313b (in honor of Dan Brittain), 84; Nate Green and Norma Green 63, 354t; Marilyn Bradley and Stanley Edwards 58, 34t; Tony Hammock 544, 112; Henry Johnson 81t, 111t.


The class resumed singing with Eugene Forbes leading 100. Leaders: Faye Hollis 171, 155; Judy Caudle 138t, 138b; Ed Thacker 441, 492 (in honor of Raymond Hamrick); Reba Windom 300, 268; Karen Rollins 143, 523; Mike Hinton 46, 340; Karen Clark 373; 467; Cecil Roberts 31t, 503 (in memory of B.J. Harris); B.M. Smith 556, 506.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Shelbie Sheppard. Henry Johnson read the list of sick and shut-ins and led 368 in honor of the following: Homer Hulsey, Michael Allen, George and Lucy Garner, Bud and Sammie Oliver, S.T. and Lessie Reed, Jimmie Denney, Lonnie Rogers, John Plunkett, Gib and Vernelle Amason, Teenie Moody, Mary Florence Smith, David Carlton, and Marvin McElroy.

Henry Johnson read the list of deceased and led 570 in memory of the following: Elder Gerald Hand, Mattie Townsel, John Etheridge, Frank Hataway, Lee Rogers, Denson Hinton, Ophelia Matthews, Eddie Albright Hart, Paul King, and Jesse Cotney. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Bridgett Hill 168, 383; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 45t, 124; Lou Cotney 189, 222; Charlene Wallace 192 (for Howard McGuire), 297. Mike Hinton offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Eugene Forbes leading 101b. Leaders: Stanley Edwards 131b, 269 (in honor of Shelbie Sheppard); Mary Jo Shafer 569b, 452; Jeff Sheppard 466 (by request of Howard McGuire); Margie Smith 313t; Ann Simpson 40, 354b; Evelyn Harris 47t, 75 (in memory of her son, Dale Harris).

In a short business session, the class voted to hold the next Boiling Springs Convention on the Saturday before the fourth Sunday in October at Jordan’s Chapel in Randolph County, Alabama.

Leaders: Shelbie Sheppard 105, 106; Elder Lewis Norton 387, 30b; Floy Wilder 350; Mike Hinton 288; Karen Swenson 228; Karen Clark 475; Karen Rollins 347; Henry Johnson 388; Norma Green 42 (in honor of Bud Oliver); Tony Hammock 321; Ed Thacker 546; Bridgett Hill 348b; Judy Caudle 301; Faye Hollis 276; Oscar McGuire 285t; Pam Nunn and Reba Windom 528.

Following announcements, Eugene Forbes and Elder Lewis Norton led 46 as the closing song. Elder Lewis Norton offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Eugene Forbes; Vice Chairman—Floy Wilder; Secretary—Donna Bell