Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore Center Singing

Elmore Center United Methodist Church, near Gordo, Alabama

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

The 165th annual session of the Elmore Center Sacred Harp Singing was held at Elmore Center United Methodist Church, near Gordo, Alabama, on Wednesday before the third Sunday in August. The class was called to order by Toney Smith, extending a hearty welcome. He introduced the pastor of the church, Nancy Cole. Toney Smith led 37b. The morning prayer was offered by Nancy Cole.

The class elected or appointed the following officers to serve: Chairman—Toney Smith; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Arranging Committee—Wayne Baines; Secretary—Lena Keeton. Toney Smith led 146.

Jack Pate welcomed everyone and introduced Ms. Nellie Brown, a long time singer. Leaders: Jack Pate 535, 282; Wendell Rinehart 31t, 445; John Van Horn 128, 168; Dylan Feezell 276, 47b.

Ricky Harcrow taught a singing school at Zion Primitive Baptist Church this past week and introduced some of the students. Ricky Harcrow, Clint Moss, Kate Moss, Ann Brantley Moss, Abbigail McCool, Madison McCool, and Amy Moss led 59 and 72b. Leaders: Ricky Harcrow 145b; Larry Ballinger 133, 119; Faye Donaldson 432, 225t.


Bill Dyer and Ricky Harcrow called the class back to order by leading 294 and 358. Leaders: Amber Davis 134, 402; Hugh Bill McGuire 312b, 503; Lena Keeton, Clint Moss, Kate Moss, Ann Moss, and Amy Moss 30t, 127; Velton Chafin 487, 68b; Shirley McCoy 217, 36b; Travis Keeton 179, 349 (for Clarence McCool); Wayne Baines 100, 101t. Pastor Nancy Cole offered prayer before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Toney Smith leading 229. Leaders: Earl Ballinger 141, 162; John Merritt “Munfordville”, 176t; Margaret Keeton 321, 448b; Jack Pate and Asher Moss 45t; Wayne Baines and Patricia (NLN) 294; Jack Pate, Clint Moss, and Kate Moss 75; Travis Keeton 343; Wendell Rinehart 30b; Dylan Feezell 38b; John Van Horn 378b; Hugh Bill McGuire 300; Larry Ballinger 540; Margaret Keeton 155; Earl Ballinger 65; John Merritt and Billy Dyer 426t, 271t; Amber Davis 192.

Following announcements, Toney Smith and Jack Pate led 69t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Ricky Harcrow, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Toney Smith; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Lena Keeton