Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Iowa All-Day Singing

Berwick Congregational Church, Berwick, Iowa

Saturday, June 13, 2009

The 8th annual Iowa All-Day Sacred Harp Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Bryan Davis leading 146. Sharla Hulsey offered the morning prayer. Annie Grieshop led 178 for all the founders of the Iowa Singing, many of whom have moved away.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bryan Davis; Vice Chairman—Bonnie Davis; Secretary—Annie Grieshop.

Leaders: Bonnie Davis 361; GeorgeAnn Evans 86; Michael Moore 40; Sharla Hulsey 198; Eric Saylor 117; Alice Olsen and Ginny Landgraf 45t; Bruce Western 51; Ginny Landgraf 506; James Page 272; Charlotte Baldwin 155; Matt Wells 503.


Eric Saylor brought the class back together leading 74b. Leaders: Gaile Gallatin and Sharla Hulsey 49t; Deanna Jens and James Page 67; Hanna Peterson 277; Tom Hurlbut 106; Dora Miller and Ginny Landgraf 496; Sue Pearson 344; Rich Miller-Todd 66; Jim Engle and Sarah Engle 159; Ryan Wheeler 148; Shannon Bunnell 59; James Crawford 49b; Charles Meyer and James Crawford 163b.


Michael Moore brought the class back together by leading 47t. Leaders: Jean Lubke 84; Brandi Jones 47b; Scott Kalberer and Charlotte Baldwin 182; Julie Bathurst and GeorgeAnn Evans 46; Doug Donley 171; Carol Crawford 70t. Sharla Hulsey offered a blessing for the noon meal.


Jon Pearson brought the class together for the afternoon session by leading 475. Leaders: Stephen Conte 102; Karen Swenson 26; Perry Lenz 30t; Annie Grieshop 168; Bryan Davis 335; Bruce Western 150; Matt Wells 270; James Page 284; Ginny Landgraf 162; Doug Donley 497.

A memorial lesson was held at this time. Bonnie Davis led 50b for the following sick and shut-ins: Ves Childs, Johanna Fabke, Bob Anderson, Bob Scorgie, Gary Jarvis, Lois Edgington, and Joe Henry Brown.

Sharla Hulsey led 510 for the following deceased: Josephine “Jody” Sparks—Illinois; Dora Adler, Barry Larkin, Joe Baker, Sarah Hesnard—Iowa; Roxanne Crawford—Wisconsin; Mary Jarvis, Bob Fort—Florida; Bethalee Harpst—Ohio; Lyanthya Murphy—Scotland. She closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Ryan Wheeler 278b; Charlotte Baldwin 290; Eric Saylor 535; James Crawford 351; Sue Pearson 472.


Tom Hurlbut brought the class back together leading 121. Leaders: Michael Moore “New Hartford”; Carol Crawford 99; GeorgeAnn Evans “Boulder”; Jon Pearson 368; Jean Lubke 312b; Karen Swenson 192; Anna Allen and Brandi Jones 457; Bonnie Davis 210; Perry Lenz 133; Stephen Conte 324; Bryan Davis 33b.


Eric Saylor brought the class back together leading 479. Leaders: Sharla Hulsey 318; Michael Moore 151; Jon Pearson 551; GeorgeAnn Evans 304; Doug Donley 319; Bonnie Davis 276; Sue Pearson 474; Bryan Davis and Patty Andrews 34t.

After announcements, Bryan Davis led 347 as the closing song. Sharla Hulsey dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Bryan Davis; Vice Chairman—Bonnie Davis; Secretary—Annie Grieshop