Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Smith Memorial Singing

Oakhurst Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Monday, May 25, 2009

The 9th session of the Jack Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Oakhurst Baptist Church in Decatur, Georgia. Joan Durdin welcomed everyone, and called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 479. Dan Huger offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Malinda Snow 63; Matt Hinton 31t; Erica Hinton 66; Bob Goodman 99; Lela Crowder 371; John Plunkett 145t; Malinda Snow 107; Mike Spencer 278t; Robert Kelley 346; Gaylon Powell 564; Cheryl Foreman 546; Guy Bankes 327; Karen Clark 534; Sonny Erwin 480; Laura Densmore 315; Bill Hollingsworth 365; Martha Ann Stegar 276; John Hollingsworth 230.


George Burnette brought the class back together leading 282. Leaders: Dan Huger 47b; Phillip Langley 142; Jane Spencer 328; Roger Keane 178; Benjamin Dicks 59; Charles Woods 283; Carol Buche 547; Eric Tweedy 385b; Tammy Powell 454; Judy Mincey 475 (in memory of Lee Rogers); Elise Sparks 532; Jeremy Shipp 163t; Shannon Primm 460 (for all victims of war); Lindsey Wiggins 183.

John Plunkett thanked all for participating and recognized singers from out of state, including Alabama, Minnesota, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas. He encouraged all local singers to travel to far-flung singings, adding that Sacred Harp singing grows stronger when people make the effort to attend more distant singings as well as those close to home. Andy Anderson offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Joan Durdin brought the class back together leading 47t. Leaders: Karen Clark 354t; Andy Anderson 31b; Tammy Powell 503; Carol Buche 86; Gaylon Powell 442; Dan Huger 48 (t? b?); Cheryl Foreman 455; Guy Bankes 467; Sonny Erwin 350; Laura Densmore 370; Sandra Wilkinson 100 (in memory of Harold Wilkinson); Laura Akerman 375; Andy Morse 51; Debora Grosse 143; Tony Hammock 434; Matt Hinton 272; Erica Hinton 102; Bob Goodman 497; Malinda Snow 474; Mike Spencer 282; Judy Mincey 242; Bill Hollingsworth 236; Jeremy Shipp 125; Shannon Primm 372; Robert Kelley 137; Lindsey Wiggins 383, 542.

At a business session the following officers were elected: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow.

After announcements, Eric Tweedy thanked Laura Akerman for her work on the monthly email newsletter, and Joan Durdin thanked all the singers for attending, as well as Terry Allen for arrangements at Oakhurst Baptist Church. Joan Durdin led 62, and John Hollingsworth offered the closing prayer.

At the end of the singing, those who wished to stay sang informally from the Alabama Christian Harmony. Leaders: Chris Wilhelm 250; Dan Huger 85; Bill Hollingsworth 214; Gaylon Powell 203; Andy Morse 67b; Tammy Powell 168b; Robert Kelley 227; Sonny Erwin 76b; Malinda Snow 65b; Cheryl Foreman 255 (?); Lindsey Wiggins 59b; Robert Kelley 59t; Dan Huger 64; Mike Spencer 361; Shannon Primm 339; Chris Wilhelm and Tony Hammock 282; Cheryl Foreman 258 (?); Chris Wilhelm 9b; Dan Huger 74 (t? b?).

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow