Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, May 24, 2009

The annual Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order by J. L. Hopper leading 145t and 205. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Guthery.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Brandon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 94, 95; Milford Cobbs 405, 381; Scott Ivey 109, 157; Bud Oliver 385b, 384; Marlin Beasley 283, 282; Larry Ballinger 528; Jonathon Thompson 155; Tom George 33b; Brandon Thompson 39b; Jonathan Smith 81t; Bridgett Hill 489; Anna Grace Sipe 77t; S.T. Reed 388; Nancy Thompson 65; Loyd Ivey 438; Joel Jenkins and Sarah Jenkins 411, 168.


The class was brought back to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 34t. Leaders: Travis Keeton 179; Jackson Harcrow 503; Leona Haynes and Rodney Ivey 417; Henry Guthery 527; Joyce Walton 500; B.M. Smith 182; Jared Wootten 441; Cheyenne Ivey 88t; Garrett Sipe 63; Harrison Creel 111b; Rachel Allred 142; Jamey Wootten 123t; Lena Keeton and Harrison Creel 512; Ed Thacker 64; Chris Ballinger 270; David Ivey 558; Danny Creel 456; Dennis George 207; Ainslie Allen 77t; Andrew Farris 408; Gerald Holmes 268; Robert Walker 350. David Ivey offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jonathon Thompson leading 84. The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Caudle. She read a list of names of the following sick and shut-ins: John Plunkett, Freddie Briggs, Myrtle Wootten, Jennifer Allred Lee, and Jeff Johnson, and led 134.

The following list of names of deceased was read by Judy Caudle: Elder Guy Hunt, Omerlean Hopper, Frank Hataway, L.H. Gilmore, Milton Oliver, Nora Higginbotham, Johnathon Cobbs, Dexter Cobbs, Bera Bradford, and Mattie Townsel-Alabama; John Etheridge-Florida. She led 459 in their memory. Elder Daniel Hopper closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Dan Hopper 240; Rodney Ivey 550; Cindy Tanner 436; Ted Mercer 468; Susan Harcrow 475; Michael Thompson 298; Judy Hauff 275t; Marty Wootten 138t; Henry Johnson 418; Nathan Rees 439; Melanie Hauff 277; Lisa Geist 391; Richard DeLong 193; Cassie Allen 316; Sonja Sipe 36b; Susan Allred 399b; Delone Cobbs 101t; Susan Holmes 313t; J.C. Rutledge 569b; Ted Mercer 217; Judy Hauff 375; Melanie Hauff 212; Bridgett Hill 377; Larry Ballinger, Lisa Geist, and Chris Ballinger 472; B.M. Smith 448b; J.L. Hopper 449.

Jonathon Thompson led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Brandon Thompson; Secretary—Judy Caudle