Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church

Douglas, Alabama

Sunday, May 17, 2009

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Zion Hill Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in May was called to order by Jackson Harcrow leading 32t, 82t, and 59. Elder Stoney Dorning welcomed everyone and offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow; Arranging Committee—Jackie Tanner.

Leaders: Jackson Harcrow 63; Jackie Tanner 89, 101t; Susan Harcrow 126, 186; Butch White 86, 33b; Sarah Harcrow 39b; Ed Thacker 220, 204; Bridgett Hill 383, 542; Nathan Rees 435, 371; Leona Haynes 64, 146; Marlin Beasley 317, 318.


The class was called back to order by Blake Sisemore leading 35 and 142. Leaders: Joel Jenkins 144; Lisa Geist 377, 224; Richard Mauldin 339, 43; Donna Wootten 335; Larry Ballinger 338, 425; Aaron Wootten 30b; Kyle Blakeley and Katie Blakeley 81t, 75; Betty Wright 97; Jared Wootten, Hayden Wootten, and Jamey Wootten 283; Judy Caudle 322; Gravis Ballinger 300.


Susan Harcrow led 426b to bring the class back together. Leaders: Drew Smith 74b, 168; Henry Johnson 100, 113; Lorrie Wootten and Marty Wootten 123t, 340; Dennis George 502, 556; S. T. Reed 70b, 88b; Jenny Mann 460 “Sweet Beulah Land”.


The afternoon session was called to order by Blake Sisemore, Rodney Ivey, and Drew Smith leading 475. Leaders: Shane Wootten 417 (by request), 419; Linda Thomas 345b; Karalina Mann and Kaylee Mann 45t; Eloise Wootten 384; Bud Oliver 47t (for Evelyn Harris), 421; Cindy Tanner 480, 498; Marlon Wootten 99.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Susan Harcrow and Shane Wootten. Susan Harcrow read the following names of sick and shut-ins: Lonnie Rogers, Clarence McCool, Julietta Haynes, John Plunkett, Myrtle Wootten, Bill Tanner, Pearl Galbreath, Ann Ballard, Rhoda Norris, and Evelyn Harris. She led 57.

Shane Wootten spoke and read the following names of the deceased: Alan Rosser, Nora Higginbotham, and Orin Floyd—Alabama; John Etheridge—Florida; Bill Reynolds—Tennessee; and Pauline Creel—Michigan. He led 163b in their memory. Shane Wootten and Rodney Ivey led 398 in memory of Alan Rosser. Henry Johnson offered prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Helen Lambert and Larry Lambert 410b, 490; Rodney Ivey 316, 176t; Jackie Tanner 138t; Bridgett Hill 176b; Susan Harcrow 411; Dennis George 500; Jenny Mann 215; Shane Wootten 54 (for Billy Williams).

Announcements were made. Jackson Harcrow led 62 as the class took the parting hand. He offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jackson Harcrow; Secretary—Susan Harcrow