Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dutch Treat Singing

Shady Grove Church, Winston County, Alabama

January 1, 1995

The annual Sacred Harp Dutch Treat Singing was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Winston County. The class was called to order by Ted Godsey leading the song on page 31b. The morning prayer was led by Dr. Doyle Williams. Ted Godsey then led song on page 59. The class was organized by electing the following officers: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—John Hyde; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Odie Horton and Cecil Sanders. Travis Keeton led songs on pages 268 and 422. Leaders: Dr. Doyle Williams 85, 99; Elmer Conwill 129, 286; Keterina Sanders 454, 389; Hubert Hood 340, 135; B. B. Mattox 186, 168; L. E. Hannah 391, 511.


John Hyde called the class together leading song on page 290. Leaders: Arnold Moore 72t, 421; Gladys Bonds 544, 499; Marie Aldridge 216, 440; Flarce Creel 475, 270 for Vernice and Essie Calvert; Edith Tate 34t for Ms. Mamie Creel who is in the hospital, 35; Harrison Creel 111b, 512; Pernie Pelfrey 145b, 312b; Mae Conwill 288, 274b; Pat Shaddix 192, 293; Kermit Adams 75, 276.


The afternoon session resumed with Travis Keeton leading page 203. Leaders: Juliette Haynes 428, 430; Amanda Denson 48t, 72t; Jane Fulmer 63, 177; Lola Roberson 137, 182. At this time a business session was held to elect officers for the radio program “The Sacred Harp Hour” at Houston, Mississippi. The class voted to retain the same officers: President—Elmer Conwill; First Vice President—Travis Keeton; Second Vice President—Larry Ballinger; Secretary and Treasurer—Johnny Humber. Leaders: Elmer Conwill 411 for Tom Harper and family; Margaret Keeton 432, 213 (t? b?); Josie Hyde 235t, 546; Milford Watts 101t, 112, 149; Mertice Hood 49 (t? b?); Rose Altha Taylor 47t, 47b; Velton Chafin 34b, 68b; Dawson Adams 73b, 73t; Ora Lee Fannin 147t for Emily Jones, 83t; Rev. Blanton Adair 127, 335; Odie Horton 403; Cecil Sanders 434; Ted Godsey and Joshua Smith 323b. John Hyde and Travis Keeton led song on page 358 for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Rev. Blanton Adair.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—John Hyde; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.