Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

University of West Georgia

Food Services Building, Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, February 15, 2009

The annual Sacred Harp singing at the University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Myron House, who welcomed everyone and led 52t. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Myron House 127; Charlene Wallace 99, 139; Lela Crowder 30t, 33b.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairperson—Jan House; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Lela Crowder; Memorial Committee—Oscar McGuire.

Leaders: Myron House 102; Jan House 171, 361; Donna Bell 155 (for Eugene Forbes), 106; Ed Thacker 273, 568; Melinda Snow 569t, 510; Denney Rogers 100, 345t; Shannon Primm 91, 78; Mike Spencer 451, 382; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 282, 101t; Jane Spencer 494, 478; Stanley Edwards 500, 271t.


The class was called together by Jan House leading 284. Leaders: Henry Johnson 123t, 111b; Charles Woods 283, 207; Mary Brownlee 182, 183; Bentley McGuire 316, 212; Evelyn Harris 89, 47t; Scott DePoy 47b, 277; Kathy Williams 108t, 437; Lonnie Rogers 97, 222; Tony Hammock 303, 544; Mary Jo Shafer 225t, 82t.


The afternoon session was called to order by Myron House leading 109. Leaders: B.M. Smith 72b, 318; Jeff Sheppard 472, 556.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Oscar McGuire, who spoke and led 229 and 146 in memory of the following deceased: Myrtle Smith, Katherine Benefield, Lee Rogers—Georgia; Jesse Cotney, Milton Oliver, Mary Smith, Dale Harris—Alabama; Elder Gerald Hand—New Mexico; Mirtha Young—(No State Listed).

Kathy Williams spoke and led 330b and 340 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Lucy Garner, George Garner, Richard DeLong, Harrison Creel, Reba Norton, Mary Florence Smith, and Frank Block. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Ed Thacker.

Leaders: John Plunkett 161; Laura Frey and Jenna Frey 133, 163b; Earlis McGraw 389, 435; Andy Anderson 34b; Sheri Taylor 275b, 148; Cecil Roberts 32t, 399b; Ruth Daniel 378t, 335; Jenna Frey 294, 46; Oscar McGuire 407; Bentley McGuire 145t (by request); Mary Brownlee and Shelbie Sheppard 66, 481; Louise Holland 73t, 63; Paige Harrod 373, 143.

Announcements were made. Myron House and Jan House led 323t as the closing song. Ed Thacker dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairperson—Jan House; Secretary—Charlene Wallace