Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baylor Sacred Harp Singing

George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Waco, Texas

Saturday, February 7, 2009

The 7th annual Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Great Hall of the George W. Truett Theological Seminary on the Baylor University campus in Waco, Texas, on Saturday before the second Sunday in February. Donald Ross taught a singing school from 9:30 to 9:45 a.m.

Dr. David Music called the class together leading 59. Dr. Terry York offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Diane Ross.

Leaders: Diane Ross 430; Jerry Ryan 421; Leon Ballinger 268; Jonathan Pendleton 388; Dr. Randall Bradley and students 128; Ron Ryan 546; Dr. Terry York and students 34b; Ashley Leffel 39t; Tammy Powell 163b; Dr. Tim Studstill 72b; Gaylon Powell 542; Jo Pendleton 479; Virginia Courtney 354b; Dr. Gayle Avant 178; Donald Ross 183; Jamie Short 477; Mike Hinton 146; Robert Vaughn 457; Chris Nicholson 569b; Dr. David Music and students 63.


The singing continued with Dr. Randall Bradley leading 87. Leaders: Evelyn Lamb 99; Crystal Meadows 384; Lindsey Wiggins 189; Justin Latimer 328; Ben Griffin 85; Dr. David Music and students 162; Ben Tallcott 155; Dr. Terry York and Trey Harper 147b; Diane Ross 81t; Jerry Ryan 274t; Leon Ballinger 297; Jonathan Pendleton 24b; Ron Ryan 333; Ashley Leffel 541; Justin Latimer 198; Jonathan Coffield 282. Dr. David Music offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session opened with Dr. Terry York leading 106. Leaders: Chris Nicholson 566; Lindsey Wiggins 36t; Stephen Caner 94; Tammy Powell 454; Jamie Short 217; Robert Vaughn 56b; Jonathan Coffield 150; Crystal Meadows 158; Mike Hinton 527; Ben Griffin 148; Jo Pendleton 68b; Gaylon Powell 86; Donald Ross 338; Dr. Terry York 337; Dr. Gayle Avant 147t; Evelyn Lamb 442; Dr. Randall Bradley 218; Ashley Leffel 112; Dr. David Music 99; Justin Latimer 236; Lindsey Wiggins 476; Gaylon Powell 380; Crystal Meadows 318; Chris Nicholson 32t; Mark Abbott 45t; Chris Pillsbury 38b; Jacob Garcia 159; Donald Ross 347.

The class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dr. David W. Music; Secretary—Diane Ross