Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Singing

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 31, 2009

The 25th annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas, on the last Saturday of January. This is the eighteenth year that the “1991 Revision of the Sacred Harp” has been used. With combined morning and afternoon attendance there were 153 singers and observers.

Dr. Tim Studstill welcomed everyone and introduced Dr. Gordon Borror, a faculty member of the School of Church Music at Southwestern. Dr. Borror opened with a word of prayer at 8:45 a.m.

Mrs. Beverly Coates gave a brief history of Sacred Harp singing and also led a “how-to” session. Dr. Studstill announced information regarding future Sacred Harp singings and dismissed everyone for refreshments.

Dr. Studstill called the morning session to order at 9:30 a.m. and led 59. Dr. Studstill introduced Mike Hinton, who offered prayer. Dr. Studstill then introduced Tim Reynolds, who gave a brief history of Dr. Reynolds’s Sacred Harp involvement and led 128. Leaders: Donald Ross 278b; Beverly Coates 318; Leon Ballinger 99; Gaylon Powell 340; Kris Wiggins 522; Cheryl Foreman 481; Ashley Leffel 45t; Bruce Coates 503; Evelyn Lamb 505; Sonny Huckaby 142; Michele Rogan 375; Sonny Erwin 480; Jerry Ryan 274t; Dianne Ross 543; LuAnn Thomas 86; Jo Pendleton 72b; Baron Powers 268; Chris Nicholson 162; Tammy Powell 454.


Tim Reynolds read a letter from Dr. Reynolds and led 148. Leaders: David Music 97; Owen Howard 388; Ryan Ross 385t; Catherine Rogan 196; Lindsey Wiggins 542; Esther Huckaby 270; Forrest Ward 164; Bill Coldwell 178; Shannon Seyler 352; Robert Vaughn 566; Douglas Foster 32t; Stephanie Turney 159; Grant Howard 373; Scott Curran 472; Vivian Rogan 312b; Myrl Jones 430; Mike Hinton 532; Trevor Howard 149; Gary Rogan 384; Bill Sanner 133; Crystal Meadows 455. Dr. Studstill offered prayer before the noon meal.


Dr. Studstill called everyone together at 1:15 p.m. by leading 127. Leaders: Leon Ballinger 490; Donald Ross 225t; Gaylon Powell 198; Kris Wiggins 528; Beverly Coates 347; Sonny Huckaby 348b; Ashley Leffel 479; Sheryl Foreman 344; Myrl Jones 189; Michele Rogan 324; Evelyn Lamb 550; Bruce Coates 313t; Jo Pendleton 31t; Chris Nicholson 452; Jerry Ryan 145t; Tim Reynolds 492; Dianne Ross 523; Baron Powers 119; Crystal Meadows 192; Ryan Ross 171; Forrest Ward 358; Catherine Rogan 436; Lindsay Wiggins 434; Bill Coldwell 240; Shannon Seyler 302; Robert Vaughn 224; Douglas Foster 342; Mike Hinton 456; Vivian Rogan 163b; Tammy Powell 217; Gary Rogan 276; Scott Curran 269; Forrest Ward 401.

David Jones offered prayer, and the class was dismissed. The Bowld Music Library at Southwestern held a presentation and display of unique historic 4 and 7-note tunebooks and shape-note artifacts.

Chairman—Dr. Tim Studstill; Secretary—Sarah Bedee