Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harper Memorial Singing

Old Flatwoods Primitive Baptist Church, Nauvoo, Alabama

Sunday, October 12, 2008

The annual Harper Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Old Flatwoods Primitive Baptist Church, Nauvoo, Alabama, on the second Sunday in October. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Philip Gilmore extending greetings to everyone and leading 32t and 31t. The morning prayer was offered by Josh Keeton. Philip Gilmore led 30t.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Philip Gilmore; Vice Chairman—Jon Harper Gilmore; Secretary—Jimmie Gilmore; Arranging Committee—Arthur Gilmore.

Leaders: Philip Gilmore 37b; Josh Keeton 30b, 108t, 111t, 111b; Grace Gilmore and Paula Gilmore 29t, 317, 270, 59; Ashley Campbell 299, 143; Ashley Keeton and Ashley Campbell 504, 442; Jimmie Gilmore 68b, 36b, 72b.


The class was called back to order by Philip Gilmore leading 77t and 76b. Leaders: Lisa Geist 129, 155, 171; Don Robertson 151, 540, 440; Elizabeth Keeton 63, 73t; Leona Haynes 146; Leona Haynes and Glenn Keeton 208, 89; Margaret Keeton 51, 276, 213b. The noon blessing was offered by Elder Philip Gilmore.


The afternoon session was called to order by Philip Gilmore and Grace Gilmore leading 64 and 388. Leaders: Josie Hyde 189, 434; Stella Pratt 75, 480; Glenn Keeton 56t, 74b, 93, 101t; Ila Ingle 500, 470, 436; Travis Keeton 274t, 179, 235, 290; Pamela Vest 530, 542, 392; Rebekah Gilmore 100, 176b, 445; John Beasley 81t, 61; Letreive Bailey 318, 384; Dwight Ingle 312b, 345b, 393; Arthur Gilmore 45t.

Following announcements, Philip Gilmore, Paula Gilmore, Rebekah Gilmore, Jon Harper Gilmore, Grace Gilmore, and Mary Jewell Gilmore led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Beasley, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Philip Gilmore; Vice Chairman—Jon Harper Gilmore; Secretary—Jimmie Gilmore