Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, September 28, 2008

The annual singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in September was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by J.L. Hopper leading 52t and 48t. The morning prayer was offered by David Light.

A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Brandon Thompson and Jonathon Thompson.

Leaders: J.L. Hopper 326; Judy Caudle 108t, 101t; Jonathon Thompson 32t, 31t; Brandon Thompson 39b, 335; Nancy Thompson 73t, 64; S.T. Reed 30t, 31b; Lomax Ballinger 67, 144; Delone Cobbs 30b, 480; Bud Oliver 145b, 61; J.C. Rutledge 59, 143.


The class was called back to order by Jonathon Thompson leading 75. Leaders: David Light 274t, 176b; Garrett Sipe 354b, 36b; Clayton Ezell 231, 278t; Wayne Reed 285t, 145t; Sonya Sipe and Brenda Childers 63, 358; Gordon Wilkinson 373, 475; Gerald Holmes 155, 28t; Susan Holmes 313t, 441. Delone Cobbs offered the prayer before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called together by J.L. Hopper leading 163t. Leaders: Carol Newman 220, 323b; Craig Holmes 438, 111b; Dan Hopper 320, 311; Wayne Kendrick 448b, 131b; Judy Caudle and Leslie Beard 276; David Light 460 (for Arvid Holmes), 318; Clayton Ezell 300; Bud Oliver 421; Gordon Wilkinson 434; S.T. Reed 425; J.C. Rutledge 568; Dan Hopper 301; Jonathon Thompson and Brandon Thompson 448t.

J.L. Hopper led 209 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Jonathon Thompson, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle