Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Bear Creek Convention

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Winston County, Alabama

Saturday, August 23, 2008

The 110th session of the Bear Creek Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Winston County, Alabama, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in August. Kermit Adams called the class to order by leading 39b. The morning prayer was offered by Velton Chafin.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Arranging Committee—Margaret Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice.

Leaders: Kermit Adams 43; Corene White 37b, 379; Roma Rice 127, 164; Dawson Adams 328, 77t; Willodean Barton 63, 82t; Wendell Rinehart 31t, 445, 68b; Lena Keeton 109, 314, 546; Wayne Baines 30t, 145t, 145b; Travis Keeton 335, 129.


Travis Keeton called the class back to order leading 89. Leaders: Richard Mauldin 378t (in memory of Dick Mauldin), 66; Richard Mauldin and Mary Godsey 100; Anne Chalker 146, 235, 388; Billy Williams 28b (for Reedy Powell); Ian Ludders 556, 268, 39t; Margaret Keeton and Ernestine Parker 325.


Kermit Adams called the class back to order by leading 384 and 383. Leaders: Velton Chafin 64, 494; Nellie Alexander 108b, 56t; Emily Jones 65, 393; Azalee Adams 337, 317; Faye Donaldson 430, 168, 225t; Steve Adams 101t; Steve Adams and Emily Jones 309; Lorene Gray, Margaret Keeton, Mary Godsey, Kathryn Weaver, Jane Velasque, and Roma Rice 354b, 340, 436, 323b, 97; Ian Ludders 48b, 107, 504, 78, 270; Wendell Rinehart 72b, 31b; Wayne Baines 569b, 382; Anne Chalker 312b (in memory of Ruth Denson).

Kermit Adams led 99 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Velton Chafin, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kermit Adams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Roma Rice