Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

Sunday, August 17, 2008

The 119th session of the Cleburne County Convention was held at Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama, on the third Sunday in August. Stanley Edwards called the class to order at 9:30 a.m. leading 59. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer.

Stanley Edwards led the introductory lesson from a 1936 edition of The Sacred Harp, donated to the convention by Meg and Al Huester in memory of J. W. Laminack. The book was given with instructions that this is the only time the book can be used. He led 112 and 113.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 101t, 434 (for Daphene Causey); Judy Chambless 87, 82t; Ed Thacker 204, 266; Bridgett Hill 460, 302; Louise Holland 73t, 437; Henry Johnson 425, 205; Floy Wilder 383, 475; Lonnie Rogers 97, 225t; Reba Windom 186, 36b; Pearl Guier 32t, 448b.


The class was brought back to order by Glenda Collins and Burt Collins leading 143 and 340. Leaders: Judy Caudle 329, 336; Robert Walker 35, 99; Randa Harris 268, 127; George Garner 391; Shannon Primm 28b, 540; Robert Chambless 317, 145t; Karen Clark 70t, 534; Scott DePoy 410t, 201 (for Frank Lott); Shelbie Sheppard 365 (in memory of Walker Cates, Jimmy Cates, and LaRue Allen); 368.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Robert Chambless. The deceased remembered were Felton Denney, LaRue Allen, Chester Lacy, Corene Laminack, B. J. Harris, Reby Stanford, Gladys McGraw, Elder Homer Benefield, and Milton Oliver. Tony Hammock led 111b in their memory.

The sick and shut-ins honored were Bud Oliver, Joyce Walton, Dale Harris, Jimmie Denney, Daphene Causey, Reba Norton, Frank Block, Catherine Benefield, Mary Florence Smith, and Renea Campbell Garner. Robert Walker led 145b in their honor. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Charles Norton.


The afternoon session of singing began with Jeff Sheppard leading 61. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 105, 569b; Charlene Wallace, Melody Kennedy, and Kate Kennedy 479, 503; Howard McGuire 45t, 192; Eunice Webb 392, 480 (by request of Reba Norton); Jeff Sheppard, Charles Norton, Cathy Norton, and Sandra Sims 63, 159; Donna Bell 31t, 122; Karleen Williams and Karen Rollins 384, 178; Evelyn Harris, Ruth Daniel, and Nellie Mae White 155, 47t, 378t; Mary Jo Shafer 163b, 229; Joan Aldridge 228; Tony Hammock 83b, 400; Ann Simpson 452, 455.

A business session was held. It was decided that the Cleburne County Convention would be held at Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church again next year. The following officers were elected or appointed for the following year: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Bridgett Hill; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Karen Rollins; Chaplain—Cecil Roberts.

A proposal was made that the next Boiling Springs Convention (normally held on the Saturday before the second Sunday in August) be held at Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the Saturday before the Cleburne County Convention on Sunday. After a brief discussion, it was decided that the Boiling Springs Convention 2009 and the Cleburne County Convention will be held on the third Sunday and Saturday before in August at Lower Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church. The business session was closed.

Announcements were made. Stanley Edwards led 42 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Donna Bell