Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial

New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama

Sunday, July 20, 2008

The 136th session of the Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama, on the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin called the class to order leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 35, 30t; Oleta Stewart 313t; Tommy Spurlock 273; S.T. Reed 275t; Sarah Smith 282; Anne Chalker 146; Don Robertson 178; Freda Bledsoe 166; Wayne Jones 137; Barbara Jones 72b; Stella Pratt 61; Rachel Allred 500; Gordon Wilkinson 200; Gary Smith 31t; Corene White 379; Tyler Newman 64.


The class was brought back together by Velton Chafin leading 445. Leaders: Seth Allred 186; Marlin Beasley and Joshua Vasquez 63; Frank Hataway 58; Hannah Tate and Brenda Merritt 542; Larry Chafin, George Chafin, and Velton Chafin 68b, 45t; Travis Keeton 388; Julianna Jett 410t; Aletha Newman 335; Ernestine Pipkin 202; Caleb Allred 107; Ann Jett and Julianna Jett 47b; Marlin Beasley and Joshua Vasquez 49b; Rodney Ivey 354t; John Etheridge 373; Richard Ivey 474.


Harrison Creel brought the class back to order by leading 111b. Leaders: Juanita Beasley 270; Elene Stovall 392; Danny Creel 456; Kathy Robinson 454; Elsie Moon 447; Bridgett Hill 402; Stanley Smith 498; Richard Mauldin 66; Judy Caudle 301; Ken Tate 37b; Josie Hyde 507; Shane Wootten 332. John Merritt offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Velton Chafin leading 318. Leaders: Gravis Ballinger and Earl Ballinger 300; Faye Donaldson 168; Chris Ballinger 44; Susan Allred 182; John Merritt 36b; Lisa Geist 195; Larry Ballinger 291; Brenda Merritt 440; Clayton Ezell 480; Sonya Sipe 569b; Harrison Creel 512, 342 (by request); Delone Cobbs 161; Wanda Capps 222; Butch White 344; Velton Chafin, Lorrie Chafin, and Larry Chafin 457; Susan Allred, Rachel Allred, Caleb Allred, and Seth Allred 390; Lisa Geist, Larry Ballinger, Chris Ballinger, Earl Ballinger, and Gravis Ballinger 84 (in memory of LaVaughn Ballinger); Aletha Newman, Tyler Newman, Freda Bledsoe, Juanita Newman, and Elsie Moon 340; Wanda Capps, Danny Creel, Harrison Creel, and Ann Jett 124 (for Charlotte McCarn); Velton Chafin 143, 389; Elene Stovall 436.

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin and Larry Chafin led 521 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Harrison Creel, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt