Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Church

Dutton, Alabama

Sunday, May 4, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Shady Grove Church on the first Sunday in May was called to order by Rex Wilks leading 37b and 31b. The morning prayer was offered by Terry Wootten.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rex Wilks; Vice Chairman—Mark Brown; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Mark Brown 36b; Ashley Brown and Laura Blouin 448t; Jason Wilks, Ava Grace Wilks, and Maggie Wilks 145b; Mark Carroll 47b; Darlene Dalton 454; Kevin Brown 147t; Aaron Wootten 270; Loretta Smith 117; Rachel Shavers 155; Christie Blevins 49b; Pam Wilkerson and Sandy Meitinger 268; Betty Wright 323b; Donna Ruth Posey, Carolyn Bullock, Brenda Carroll, Mackenzie Carroll, and Marlon Wootten 511t (CB); Karen Travis 163t; Marty Wootten 475; Coy Ivey 465 (CB).


Rodney Ivey brought the class back to order leading 571 (CB).

Syble Adams and Edna Rogers conducted the memorial lesson. Leaders: the W.G. Meadows family 348b; the Jim and Betty Lynne Ellis family 454, 540 (WB); the Theodore and Maxie Carroll family and the Evelyn Brown family 500 (CB); the Delmer and Morene Brown family 563 (CB), “Holy Manna”; the Chester and Delta Wootten family “Alleluia”, 559 (CB); the Jesse M. and Beulah H. Wootten family 378t; the Kessler family 518 (CB); the Johnson family “Sweet Beulah Land”; the Arlon Carroll family 505 (CB); the McKinney family “I’ll Fly Away”.

Syble Adams and Edna Rogers led 48t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Sam Sommers, Pauline Childers, Bill Tanner, Myrtle Wootten, Lonnie Rogers, and Opal Wootten. Dennis Hall closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


The afternoon session was called together by Mark Brown leading 32t. Leaders: Judy Caudle 325; Loyd Ivey 225t; Bud Oliver 421; Reba Windom and Brenda Carroll 384; Danny Arms 392; Jared Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 460; Alex Craig, Zach Craig, Gavin Maxwell, Isaac Maxwell, and Avalea Maxwell 27; J.C. Rutledge 501 (CB); Michael Thompson 463 (CB); Terry Wootten 56b; Charles Meitinger 352; Linda Sides 39t; Aaron Little 449 (CB); Cassie Allen 512; Eloise Wootten 441; Shane Wootten 47t; Morgan Freuler 48b; Anne Missavage 30t; Verlon Stiefel and Mary Ruth Stiefel 572 (CB); Sandy Ivey 378b; Levon Wootten and Jimmy Haynes 328; Rhonda Arnold 63; Tim Dalton 277; Loyd Ivey and Pam Wilkerson 424 (by request); Mark Brown 500 (CB) (by request).

Rex Wilks and Mark Brown led “Where the Soul Never Dies” as the closing song. Jason Wilks offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rex Wilks; Vice Chairman—Mark Brown; Secretary—Judy Caudle