Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

McWhorter Memorial

Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, October 20, 2007

The annual McWhorter Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Mars Hill Primitive Baptist Church in Cleburne County, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in October. Cecil Roberts brought the class to order leading 59. Lonnie Rogers offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 45t; Henry Schuman 32t, 47b; Glenda Collins 290, 81t; Robert Chambless 72b, 503; Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Sarah Smith 340, 146; Lonnie Rogers 389, 75.


Cecil Roberts called the class back to order leading 138b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Secretary/Arranging Committee—Mary L. Smith.

Leaders: Karleen Williams 100, 298; Ann Hamilton 84; Olivia Iverson 371, 317; Tony Hammock 60, 97; George Garner 63; Mary Jo Shafer 335, 410t; Henry Johnson 88t, 418; David McGukin 224, 145t; Ed Thacker 209, 383; Hugh McGraw 145b; Gary Smith 66, 565; Karen Rollins 373 (for Amanda Denson), 489 (for Felton Denney and Josephine Denney); Donna Bell 163b, 107; Charlene Wallace 40, 345t.


The afternoon session was called to order by Cecil Roberts leading 294. Leaders: Class “Mercy Seat” (333) and “There Is A Fountain” (334) from Lloyd’s Hymnal were sung by request; Judy Chambless 393, 82t; Lou Cotney 384, 159; Eunice Webb 224, 208.

Hugh McGraw conducted the memorial lesson leading 37t for the deceased and sick and shut-ins.

Leaders: Ann Simpson 127, 358; Glenda Collins 143; Mary Jo Shafer 229; Henry Johnson 425; Henry Schuman 56t; Gary Smith 225t; Sarah Smith 354b; Ed Thacker 407; Robert Chambless 523; Tony Hammock 428.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts led 62 as the closing song, and those who wished took part in the parting hand. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Tony Hammock; Secretary—Mary L. Smith