Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial

New Prospect Church, Cullman County, Alabama

Sunday, July 15, 2007

The 135th session of the Chafin, Harbinson, and Hollis Memorial singing was held at New Prospect Church in Cullman County, Alabama, on the third Sunday in July. Velton Chafin called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. leading 33b. The morning prayer was offered by James White.

The class organized and the same officers were retained to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt; Arranging Committee—Billy Williams.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 30t, 32t; Ken Tate 37b; Marlin Beasley 75; Sarah Smith 406; Charlotte McCarn 84; Guy Bankes 350; Travis Keeton 392; Henry Guthery 283; S.T. Reed 407; Becky Briggs 480; Chris Ballinger 300; Gary Smith 565; Caleb Allred 47b; Juanita Beasley 61; Juanita Newman 335; Oleta Stewart 313t; Will Allred 196; Don Robertson 440; Stella Pratt 452; Jennifer Allred 500.


The class was brought back together by Harrison Creel leading 111b. Leaders: Elsie Moon 456; Larry Chafin and Velton Chafin 63, 111t; Rachel Allred 389; Debra Buckles and Velton Chafin 128; Corene White and Margaret Keeton 97; Bridgett Hill 383; Lucy Heidorn 155; John Etheridge 211; Larry Ballinger 276; Bethanne Hill 36b; Olivia Hill 168; Esme Hill 30t; Rodney Ivey 129; Judy Caudle 439; Butch White and Kenny Graves 38b; Susan Allred 378b.


Velton Chafin brought the class to order leading 143. Leaders: Ashley Campbell 198; Bud Oliver 42; Josie Hyde 507; Danny Creel 503; Ann Jett 269; Richard Mauldin 551; Wanda Capps 144; Harrison Creel 498, 342.


The afternoon session began with Velton Chafin leading 130. Leaders: Earl Ballinger 135; Coy Ivey 384; Freda Bledsoe 87; John Merritt “Higher Ground”; Brenda Merritt and Caleb Allred 336; Lorrie Chafin, Barbara Sudekamp, and Velton Chafin 45t; Brenda Merritt, Caleb Allred, Will Allred, and Richard Mauldin 358; Rodney Ivey 564; Marlin Beasley, Sarah Smith, Becky Briggs, and Jennifer Briggs 146; Guy Bankes 189; Taletha Chafin, Brenda Merritt, and Velton Chafin 339; Will Allred 182; Danny Creel 222; Judy Caudle 411; Josie Hyde 434; Ken Tate 215; Larry Ballinger, Earl Ballinger, and Chris Ballinger 445; Ashley Campbell 299; Lucy Heidorn and Charlotte McCarn 88t; Susan Allred, Greg Allred, Jennifer Allred, Rachel Allred, Caleb Allred, Will Allred, and Zack Allred 192; Oleta Stewart, Freda Bledsoe, and Danny Creel 405; Bridgett Hill, Bethanne Hill, Olivia Hill, and Esme Hill 101t; Kenny Graves and Butch White 31t; John Merritt, Brenda Merritt, and Velton Chafin 175, 162.

Announcements were made. Velton Chafin led 521 as the closing song. Larry Chafin offered prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Harrison Creel; Secretary—Brenda Merritt