Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville (Near Ephesus), Georgia

Sunday, June 17, 2007

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairlady Karen Rollins leading 36b and 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Lonnie Rogers. Denney Rogers led 75 and 101t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice-Chairman—Denney Rogers; Secretary—Karleen Williams; Arranging Committee-Stanley Edwards.

Leaders: Bentley McGuire 56b, 542; Lonnie Rogers 155, 176b; Sharona Nelson 37b, 178; Lela Crowder 276, 121; Floy Wilder 227, 350; Sherry Lovvorn 405, 100; Eugene Forbes 434, 436; Bobby Watkins 33b, 480; Stanley Edwards 201, 95; Oscar McGuire 441, 229; Tony Hammock 428, 400.


Denney Rogers led 61 to call the class to order. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 335, 30b; Karleen Williams and Jimmie Denney 45t, 146; Donna Bell 79, 107; Bob Parr 216, 492; Matt Hinton 277, 31b; Randa Harris and Barry Rollins 358, 268; George Garner 186; Erica Hinton 410t, 540; Carlene Griffin 172, 448b.


The class resumed singing with John Plunkett leading 566 and 374. Leaders: Floy Wilder 432, 389; Laura Frey 163b, 63; Joan Denney 339.

Paige Rogers Harrod spoke about the deceased and shut-ins for the memorial session, and Oscar McGuire led 47b. The deceased were Mrs. Lenford Bivins Parmer, Comer Yates, Max Denney, Ruth Rogers Borders, Bobby Jackson, Edra Rogers Hatchett, Mary Wilson Hackney, Bradie Talley Rogers, and Ted Denney.

Sharona Nelson spoke about loved ones who have passed away, and sang 53 for the sick and shut-ins. Those honored were Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Webster Denney, Myra Denney, Reba Rogers Sims, Junior Rogers, Ed Nelson, and Mary Nelson. Jeff Sheppard closed the memorial session with prayer.

Leaders: Louise Holland 212, 284; Phillip Denney 84, 164; Malinda Snow 34b, 496; Reba Norton 373; Audress Gurley 176t, 108t; Laura Robinson, Kayla McWhorter, and Randa Harris 143, 87; Jeff Sheppard 467, 388; Gerald Rogers and Harold Rogers 59, 294; Bob Parr 270; John Plunkett 473; Phillip Denney 340 (in memory of J.D. Muse); Sharona Nelson 168.

Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers led 46 as the closing song. Announcements were made. The closing prayer was offered by John Plunkett, and the class was dismissed.

Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Denney Rogers; Secretary—Karleen Williams