Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Smith Memorial Singing

Oakhurst Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Monday, May 28, 2007

The 7th session of the Jack Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Oakhurst Baptist Church in Decatur, Georgia. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by John Plunkett leading 59. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Joan Durdin 40; Malinda Snow 479; Andy Morse 99; Susan Firestone 84; Debora Grosse 350; Mike Spencer 354t; John Redman 236; Charles Woods 399b (in memory of Bobby Jackson and for all teachers); Tony Hammock 326; Martha Ann Stegar 268; Jane Spencer 232; John Hollingsworth 164; Robert Kelly 300; Les Scott 155; Lela Crowder 77t; Kate Tucker and Myra Tucker 299.


Joan Durdin, Kate Tucker, and Jim Brooks brought the class back together leading 178.

In a business session the following officers were elected: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow.

Leaders: Phillip Langley 203; Michael Haverty 445; Kathy Manning 192; Amy Greene 107; Laura Densmore 522; George Burnett 101t; Stanley Edwards 101b; Leyland delRe 505; John Shippee 159; Jonathan Smith 145t; Andy Anderson 146; Tammy Powell 216; Guy Bankes 486; Nathan Rees 434; Helen Bryson 411; Gaylon Powell 383; Don Clark 151. The blessing for lunch was offered by Andy Anderson.


John Plunkett brought the afternoon session together leading 124. Leaders: Jeremy Shipp 185; Mary Cicotello 63; Laura Densmore 528; Kathy Manning 215; Guy Bankes 327; Sandra Wilkinson 384; Ellie Soler 277; Nathan Rees 177; Leyland delRe 182; Jonathan Smith 319; Stanley Edwards 33t; Tammy Powell 163b; Don Clark 174; Robert Kelly 547; Lela Crowder 542; Michael Haverty 208; Gaylon Powell 500; Tony Hammock 132; Charles Woods 285t.


Joan Durdin brought the class back together leading 448b (in honor of all healers). Leaders: Roger King 282; Kate Hauk 276; Jane Spencer 149; Helen Bryson 275b (in memory of Albert Bryson); George Burnett 421; Les Scott 117; John Redman 38b; Malinda Snow 472; Andy Morse 448t; Andy Anderson 28t; Carl Cicotello 408.

Announcements were made. John Plunkett and Joan Durdin led 323t as the closing song. Andy Anderson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow